would extend metamagic rod work when casting a scroll?


Rules Questions


Subject.

prd:A spell successfully activated from a scroll works exactly like a spell prepared and cast the normal way.

extend metamagic rod.
The wielder can cast up to three spells per day that are extended as though using the Extend Spell feat.

not taking a position on this, and my reading skills are a little fuzzy now. Could someone interpret the raw for me?

diplomacy 1d20 + 0 ⇒ (10) + 0 = 10

Grand Lodge

No... because you're not casting a spell, you're completing a casting that was pre-built..

Using a scroll is a employing as spell completion item, it is not the same action as casting.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Metamagic: When casting a spell from a scroll, wand, or staff, can I apply one or more of my metamagic feats to that spell?

No.

—Sean K Reynolds, 07/21/11

-edit- forgot the second part:

Metamagic Rod: Can I use one of these items to alter a spell-like ability?

No. Metamagic rods allow you to apply a metamagic feat to a spell, and metamagic feats do not work on spell-like abilities.

—Sean K Reynolds, 08/22/11

So because metamagic rods don't work on Sp because you can't use metamagic feats on Sp, then metamagic rods won't work on scrolls, because you can't use metamagic feats on scrolls.


Thanks for the clarification. Could you extend a spell with the feat, then extend with a metamagic rod, effectively quadrupling the duration?


Kahn Zordlon wrote:
Could you extend a spell with the feat, then extend with a metamagic rod, effectively quadrupling the duration?

Extend Spell (Metamagic): "An extended spell lasts twice as long as normal."

Both effects would cause the spell to last twice as long as normal.


Multiple Metamagic Feats on a Spell: A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can't apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell.

Grand Lodge

Kahn Zordlon wrote:
Thanks for the clarification. Could you extend a spell with the feat, then extend with a metamagic rod, effectively quadrupling the duration?

First point.... two doublings count as a tripling, not quadrupling as they are essentially two separate doublings of the original duration.

Second point. What part of not being able to use rods with scrolls did you miss?


LazarX wrote:
Second point. What part of not being able to use rods with scrolls did you miss?

Kahn Zordlon didn't mention scrolls in his second post.

Grand Lodge

Grick wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Second point. What part of not being able to use rods with scrolls did you miss?

Kahn Zordlon didn't mention scrolls in his second post.

IF he's mentioning a cast spell then... then the combo would give you a triple duration spell. Two doubles makes a triple, because all modifications are based on the original duration.


You can't cast spells from scrolls with a metamagic rod.

However, I wonder if you could use a metamagic rod to create a scroll of a spell + Metamagic feat? Such as a maximized fireball scroll?


Multiple Metamagic Feats on a Spell: A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can't apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell.


wraithstrike wrote:
Multiple Metamagic Feats on a Spell: A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can't apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell.

And even if using the rod doesn't count as applying the feat (which it should), then it still wouldn't do anything, because Extend doesn't double what the spell was going to be, it doubles the normal duration. The normal duration would be the duration when not extended.


Grick wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Multiple Metamagic Feats on a Spell: A spellcaster can apply multiple metamagic feats to a single spell. Changes to its level are cumulative. You can't apply the same metamagic feat more than once to a single spell.

And even if using the rod doesn't count as applying the feat (which it should), then it still wouldn't do anything, because Extend doesn't double what the spell was going to be, it doubles the normal duration. The normal duration would be the duration when not extended.

I see someone ninja'd me also. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / would extend metamagic rod work when casting a scroll? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions