Cha-a-a-arge!


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I am playing a halfling summoner riding a quadruped eidolon. "Cheney", the eidolon, has the Pounce evolution, so gets full attacks (claw, claw, bite) when he charges. If the eidolon charges, is the rider also charging? Ideally, I would like to have both attack on the same charge.

(No, I did not name the eidolon after the former VP. I couldn't resist the pun on Lon Cheney. Don't try to tell me I'm alone or original, either. No doubt at least 10% of the eidolons out there are "Eidolon Cheney".)

Grand Lodge

That's how I do it...

Liberty's Edge

Karol wrote:
That's how I do it...

But how? Assuming the summoner and eidolon go on different initiatives, does one delay until the other's turn? Or is the summoner considered to have charged when the eidolon has charged?

Grand Lodge

When you play a Cavalier do you roll once for the mount and once for the rider? Of course not. Why do it any differently for a class meant to do the same buisness, but with a little more imagination?

Talk to the GM before hand to understand how s/he would do it.I just roll and take the lower score, luckely they are the same, so that helps...


When the mount charges (whether the ride is or not), the mount can get his full attack. Due to the bit about "when a mount charges...", if the rider makes an attack after the mount's charge, he takes the penalties and bonuses as if he had charged as well.

Since the mounted combat rules are meant to simulate actual mounted charges, in the cases where the rider charges but the mount does not (which is how it happened almost every single time in the real world), the rider uses the mount's movement speed, but the mount doesn't make the attacks.

Theoretically, they could both charge, but of course only the mount would get the pounce attacks; the rider would just get 1 attack. In this case, presumably the rider would order the mount to charge, all while charging at the same target (or a target that's within reach, I guess).


Note, if you're using a lance, you won't able to attack and have the eidolon attack as well. Unless the eidolon has reach...


You would be able to with Ride By Attack.


Also true.

Dark Archive

*Came in hoping this thread was about a PC based on 'Braveheart' from Carebears.*

:(


Mounts always act on the initiative count of their riders. It's buried in the rules on mounted combat somewhere.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cha-a-a-arge! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions