Spells gained at new level (Wizard)


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Recently one of my players died and he decided he wanted to play a conjuration wizard.

When he generated his spell list he told me that one of his two free spells at each level didn't have to be from his specialization school.

I was pretty sure this was incorrect but after pouring over the Wizard class description in detail I couldn't find the requirement.

He has since moved on to play a bard (so this is a non-issue from a rules perspective at the table).

Today however I found this on page 219 of the CRB

Spoiler:
Adding Spells to a Wizard’s Spellbook
Wizards can add new spells to their spellbooks through
several methods. A wizard can only learn new spells that
belong to the wizard spell lists.
Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain
amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a
character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of
his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must
be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize
in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be
from his specialty school.

I was wonder do people feel that this is a hold over from 3.5 and should be removed or should it be added to the Wizard section to avoid confusion?

Sovereign Court

It's kind of a necessity to ensure that the wizard can fill his school slots each day. It probably should be in the Wizard section too, though.


Huh. I always use d20pfsrd, where it is right there in the Spells section. I hadn't noticed it wasn't in the Wizard section in the normal book. Something to FAQ?

Grand Lodge

No he doesn't have to pick anything from his specialized school as far as his two learned freebies go.

BUT...... When it comes to spell preparation, the spell in the extra slot has to come from his school of specialty. Whether it's a spell of that level or a lower level spell prepared in that slot. Note that if said lower level spell is a cantrip, he still only gets one use of that spell.

If the wizard in question has been obtaining spells from scrolls, or from trading from other wizards he can be filling from specialty spells obtained that way.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

LazarX wrote:
No he doesn't have to pick anything from his specialized school as far as his two learned freebies go.

Did you miss where this rule was cited?

Quote:
If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.

From the first post in the thread, in the spoiler.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Ahorsewithnoname wrote:

Recently one of my players died and he decided he wanted to play a conjuration wizard.

When he generated his spell list he told me that one of his two free spells at each level didn't have to be from his specialization school.

I was pretty sure this was incorrect but after pouring over the Wizard class description in detail I couldn't find the requirement.

He has since moved on to play a bard (so this is a non-issue from a rules perspective at the table).

Today however I found this on page 219 of the CRB

** spoiler omitted **

I was wonder do people feel that this is a hold over from 3.5 and should be removed or should it be added to the Wizard section to avoid confusion?

That should definitely be added to the wizard section to avoid confusion. I'll mention it to the other guys at d20pfsrd to see if we can put in an editor's note there.


I don't agree with the rule and would probably house rule it out. A Wizard's bonus spell per day comes from his specialized school and if he doesn't have any specialized school spells in his book, he can't cast the extra spell. IMO it is sort of a self correcting problem.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sorry for your loss. Good news though about being able to play D&D in the afterlife!

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Jodokai wrote:
I don't agree with the rule and would probably house rule it out. A Wizard's bonus spell per day comes from his specialized school, and if he doesn't have any specialized school spells, in his book, he can't the extra spell. IMO it is sort of a self correcting problem.

On the other hand, what if it was a balance decision with some of the school powers? For instance, the Divination(Foresight) subschool has AMAZING powers, but you're stuck picking a divination spell every level. (There are some gems there, but not that many.) So it's kind of a trade-off.

I have a Fighter/Wizard, and was willing to take Foresight in spite of the crappy spells because the powers were just that good. If I got to have those powers without gimping my selection of free spells, well...

...Okay, I'd be really happy. But do you see my point? :P


Jiggy wrote:

On the other hand, what if it was a balance decision with some of the school powers? For instance, the Divination(Foresight) subschool has AMAZING powers, but you're stuck picking a divination spell every level. (There are some gems there, but not that many.) So it's kind of a trade-off.

I have a Fighter/Wizard, and was willing to take Foresight in spite of the crappy spells because the powers were just that good. If I got to have those powers without gimping my selection of free spells, well...

...Okay, I'd be really happy. But do you see my point? :P

Hmm good point. I hate when all my well laid out plans are foiled by logic.

Grand Lodge

Turns out I was wrong. answer is in the quoted text below.

Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.

That's the answer. If you choose to allow otherwise as a DM, then it's your call.


Jodokai wrote:
I don't agree with the rule and would probably house rule it out. A Wizard's bonus spell per day comes from his specialized school and if he doesn't have any specialized school spells in his book, he can't cast the extra spell. IMO it is sort of a self correcting problem.

True enough. Though I personally like the rule I can't say from experience if it would be game breaking to not play without it(the Wizard that prompted my search only last a game).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
LazarX wrote:

Turns out I was wrong. answer is in the quoted text below.

Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.

That's the answer. If you choose to allow otherwise as a DM, then it's your call.

That text only appears in the Wizard section of the (unofficial) d20pfsrd site. In the rulebook and on the (official) prd it is absent. It would be nice to see it added to the Wizard section in the next CRB printing/errata, or the reference buried deep in the Magic section removed, to make things clearer.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Mort the Cleverly Named wrote:
LazarX wrote:

Turns out I was wrong. answer is in the quoted text below.

Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school.

That's the answer. If you choose to allow otherwise as a DM, then it's your call.

That text only appears in the Wizard section of the (unofficial) d20pfsrd site. In the rulebook and on the (official) prd it is absent. It would be nice to see it added to the Wizard section in the next CRB printing/errata, or the reference buried deep in the Magic section removed, to make things clearer.

You are incorrect sir. This is the direct quote from page 219 of the Core Rulebook:

"Spells Gained at a New Level: Wizards perform a certain
amount of spell research between adventures. Each time a
character attains a new wizard level, he gains two spells of
his choice to add to his spellbook. The two free spells must
be of spell levels he can cast. If he has chosen to specialize
in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be
from his specialty school.
" (emphasis mine)

This was included in the wizard section of the d20pfsrd because it was found on that page. It is RAW, in other words.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

I think what he was trying to say was that it was absent from the Wizard section of the Classes chapter, not that it didn't exist as a rule. (Though he did sort of make it sound that way at first.) It'd be nice if the rule was either removed or added to the Wizard's class description.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Jiggy wrote:
I think what he was trying to say was that it was absent from the Wizard section of the Classes chapter, not that it didn't exist as a rule. (Though he did sort of make it sound that way at first.) It'd be nice if the rule was either removed or added to the Wizard's class description.

For our part at d20pfsrd.com, I have made it more prominent by making sure it says so both in the Spells section and the Spellbook section of the Wizard page. I think this is definitely something that people have overlooked in the past since it's not in the Wizard section in the rulebook.


cartmanbeck wrote:
This was included in the wizard section of the d20pfsrd because it was found on that page. It is RAW, in other words.

I believe you are misinterpreting me. I am completely aware that the text appears in Chapter 9: Magic. I specifically mentioned its appearance there. It does not, however, appearing the Wizard section of Chapter 3: Classes. All it says there, under the "Spellbooks" section, is:

The CRB wrote:
At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to his own (see Chapter 9)

While it calls out Chapter 9, it does so in a way that it would seem it only needs to be checked for information on adding spells from other wizards' spellbooks. The (quite important) bit of information "If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school" only exists there, buried in a later chapter amongst a large amount of other information. d20pfsrd (smartly, in my opinion) added it to the Wizard class section so that it is more easily noticed. I'm saying that it would be nice if the standard CRB followed their example, placing the information in the first location one would look for it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Mort the Cleverly Named wrote:
I'm saying that it would be nice if the standard CRB followed their example, placing the information in the first location one would look for the information.

I suggest a new thread to collect FAQ Flags to bring attention to this. If you make it, I'll click it for you. :)


Jiggy wrote:
I suggest a new thread to collect FAQ Flags to bring attention to this. If you make it, I'll click it for you. :)

No need to burden the FAQ system any more than it already is. There are plenty of more important things for that, I think. I did drop a mention in the CRB errata thread, though. Hopefully it will get tossed into the 6th printing if there is room.

I also checked the regular 3.5 srd, and the situation appears to be the same there. So it isn't a half-deleted rule, just one of those ones we all know but don't remember exactly WHERE we know it from.


Mort the Cleverly Named wrote:


I also checked the regular 3.5 srd, and the situation appears to be the same there. So it isn't a half-deleted rule, just one of those ones we all know but don't remember exactly WHERE we know it from.

And drives DM's crazy trying to locate again. ;)

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Mort the Cleverly Named wrote:
cartmanbeck wrote:
This was included in the wizard section of the d20pfsrd because it was found on that page. It is RAW, in other words.

I believe you are misinterpreting me. I am completely aware that the text appears in Chapter 9: Magic. I specifically mentioned its appearance there. It does not, however, appearing the Wizard section of Chapter 3: Classes. All it says there, under the "Spellbooks" section, is:

The CRB wrote:
At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to his own (see Chapter 9)
While it calls out Chapter 9, it does so in a way that it would seem it only needs to be checked for information on adding spells from other wizards' spellbooks. The (quite important) bit of information "If he has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from his specialty school" only exists there, buried in a later chapter amongst a large amount of other information. d20pfsrd (smartly, in my opinion) added it to the Wizard class section so that it is more easily noticed. I'm saying that it would be nice if the standard CRB followed their example, placing the information in the first location one would look for it.

Sorry about that, yeah I misinterpreted your post as an argument when you were actually agreeing with me. Hopefully it'll be in the next printing!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ahorsewithnoname wrote:
Recently one of my players died

Send flowers.


Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber

Really this isn't a problem. As a "fresh out of the box" wizard, if you will, you will only know 4 spells per spell level (except for 1 which is likely closer to 10). One of those four MUST be from your specialty school just to use your extra slot. And as a Specialist, you will likely prefer your school spells anyways b/c you'll likely have Spell Focus and other build options that favor those spells.

So You have to have 1, and really you can't find a second spell in your school that you want to cast? Why did you pick that school?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Spells gained at new level (Wizard) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion