| NovaIllistar |
I was looking through the books and have come across a potentially interesting combination. If you were a Polearm Master, more for the bonus's but also to shorten your grip, and if you had lunge, you could be at 15 ft reach in a given round if you equipped a weapon like a Longspear. If you had Combat Reflexes, you could also make a fairly high number of AoO every round.
Lets say you have Combat Patrol and you set up a patrol on your turn. An enemy charges you on their turn. Could you accept the AoO when they enter the 10 ft reach, move 5 feet away from them with Combat Patrol, and then attack them with the attack while they are at the 15 ft mark?
Taking this a step further: if this is possible would the enemy keep charging because he hasn't hit you yet and if he does, can you keep back peddling and attack as long as you have movement/room/attacks/enemy has movement to do so?
This opens up some interesting enemies that could surprise players in my campaign if it's a valid composition.
My apologies if this has been posted before but I haven't found anything with the wording I've used.
| Grick |
If you were a Polearm Master, more for the bonus's but also to shorten your grip, and if you had lunge, you could be at 15 ft reach in a given round if you equipped a weapon like a Longspear.
Not for the round, for your turn. Lunge only increases your reach during your turn. (The penalty lasts the whole round, though)
Lets say you have Combat Patrol and you set up a patrol on your turn. An enemy charges you on their turn. Could you accept the AoO when they enter the 10 ft reach, move 5 feet away from them with Combat Patrol, and then attack them with the attack while they are at the 15 ft mark?
No. The enemy provokes when they leave a threatened square. In order to hit them, you must still reach them, so you'll have to move up into range in order to take the AoO. Your reach is only 10' despite the increased threat area from Combat Patrol.
Actually, it depends on the interpretation of the feat.
I was assuming Combat Patrol meant it increases the threatened area only for the purpose of provoking the AoOs, and the movement part means you still have to move into your normal reach area to hit them. But Threatened Squares are defined as the squares into which you can make a melee attack. This means, by RAW, you can make an attack into any of the increased range of squares granted by combat patrol. I'm not sure if this is the intent or not, so be sure to ask your DM.
Taking this a step further: if this is possible would the enemy keep charging because he hasn't hit you yet and if he does, can you keep back peddling and attack as long as you have movement/room/attacks/enemy has movement to do so?
No, he only provokes once for the same movement.
| Grick |
On a related note, is there any way to be able to strike adjacent targets with a polearm, without being a Polearm Master Fighter? The only thing I came up with was to take Catch Off Guard and use the polearm as an improvised weapon.
Not really. The downside to reach weapons is they usually leave a threat gap.
Armor spikes will let you threaten adjacent.
| Grick |
...or being a phalanx soldier (they can use polearms as one-handed weapons).
Using it one-handed does not change the reach. (though if the Phalanx Soldier wields a light/heavy shield, it would threaten adjacent)
The same thing works by using a polearm one size smaller as a one-handed weapon. You take -2 for inappropriate size, but you have another hand to wield weapons with. Use both hands on the small polearm during your turn (for 1.5Str/PA) then drop one hand at the end of your turn to threaten with the polearm at reach and a spiked gauntlet adjacent. Many DMs will bristle at this, though.
| Grick |
Add spiked gauntlets to that list.
Most people rule that if you're using the hand that wears the gauntlet to wield another weapon, you have to choose which one is wielded and that's the one that threatens.
Meaning, both hands on polearm, threaten with polearm, not with gauntlet. One hand on polearm (carried, not wielded) then you can threaten with the gauntlet.
(I think it makes sense to be able to punch someone with the spiked gauntlet while still holding the haft of the polearm, but that's pretty much house rule territory)
| Cyberwolf2xs |
Cyberwolf2xs wrote:...or being a phalanx soldier (they can use polearms as one-handed weapons).Using it one-handed does not change the reach. (though if the Phalanx Soldier wields a light/heavy shield, it would threaten adjacent)
The same thing works by using a polearm one size smaller as a one-handed weapon. You take -2 for inappropriate size, but you have another hand to wield weapons with. Use both hands on the small polearm during your turn (for 1.5Str/PA) then drop one hand at the end of your turn to threaten with the polearm at reach and a spiked gauntlet adjacent. Many DMs will bristle at this, though.
You're right, but that was not what I meant. I meant that by using the polearm one-handedly, you have a free hand that can hold a weapon (or shield or gauntlet) with which you threaten.
TheSideKick
|
fighter6 (lore warden archetype), cleric 1 (growth domian/travel domain), fighter 5
horse chopper trip/reach 1d10 x3 martial b/s
spiked armor - 1d6 20x2 light p
stats: Lv1 (rolled)
str 19
dex 15
con 16
int 13
wis 15
cha 8
feats:
h iron will
1 doge
f combat reflexes
f improved trip combat expertise
3 improved iron will
f mobility
5 combat patrol
f greater trip
7(cleric) spring attack
9 whirlwind attack
f lunge
11 pin down
f fury's fall
skills: Lv1
acrobatics 3 (+trait if traits are allowed)
knowledge arcana 5
knowledge dungeneering 5
knowledge nature 5
knowledge planes 5
knowledge religion 5
saves: Lv1
fortortitude 5
reflex 2
will 4
most bad ass tank ever! ok not really but very usefull for defending ranged or spell casting characters. combat patrol makes your threaten +5 feet per 5 points of bab (every 5 levels) which means the party rogue/ninja is your best friend AND you threaten for aoo's and flanking while it is active.
you basically trip anything that runs into your threatened range, it provokes for the group, then you use your next turn to AOE with whirl wind attack.
. If you were a Polearm Master
this is a garbage archetype. wear spiked armor and you would threaten for 5 feet.