Casting Spells with Metamagic AND a Metamagic Rod: How does this work?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Okay, quick question here.

Let's say I am playing a 10th level wizard or sorcerer. I am holding a lesser Rod of Maximize Spell (affects spells of 3rd level or less). I cast fireball. It is a 3rd-level spell, so I can spend one of three daily uses of Maximize from the rod to deal 60 points of damage.

Round 2. I cast an empowered fireball. Empower Spell adds +1 to the slot required to cast it--but it remains a 3rd-level spell. So can I spend a second charge from my rod to deal 60 + 5d6 points of damage? Or would I need a more powerful Rod that affects 4th-6th level spells?

Thank you.

Master Arminas


Metamagic Feats: "Spells modified by a metamagic feat use a spell slot higher than normal. This does not change the level of the spell"

Metamagic Rods: "Lesser rods can be used with spells of 3rd level or lower"

I think it works.


It works, when you use fireball with any metamagic (except heighten spell), fireball is still considered a 3rd lv spell. Even if you used enough metamagic to require a 9th lv slot, fireball is still considered a 3rd lv spell, the only exception to this is heighten spell. Now if you use heighten spell you are increasing the actual lv of the spell so you would need a rod that affects spells higher than 3rd lv.


Looks good to me.


We have had this discussion a few times in the forums. My guide about the sorcerer use it like that.

RAW, it works. I think it is RAI too, but we haven't had a FAQ yet.

Your empowered fireball cant pierce a Globe of Invulnerability, because it is a 3rd level spell. It should need a lesser rod of Maximize too, for the same reasons: it's a level 3 spell.

The rule about metamagic feat say:

Effects of Metamagic Feats on a Spell: In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot.

It does not say "in the ways it hurt the PC, like a Globe of invulnerability, it operate at its original spell level". It says "in all ways"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting Spells with Metamagic AND a Metamagic Rod: How does this work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions