Maneuver Master Monk question


Rules Questions


I am wondering about the Maneuver Master monk archetype power called "Flurry of Maneuvers":

Quote:


Flurry of Maneuvers (Ex)

At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action. The maneuver master uses his monk level in place of his base attack bonus to determine his CMB for the Classes bonus maneuvers, though all combat maneuver checks suffer a –2 penalty when using a flurry. At 8th level, a maneuver master may attempt a second additional combat maneuver, with an additional –3 penalty on combat maneuver checks. At 15th level, a maneuver master may attempt a third additional combat maneuver, with an additional –7 penalty on combat maneuver checks.

This ability replaces flurry of blows.

My question is: can you mix normal attacks and maneuvers while doing a "flurry of maneuvers" ?

For example, lets talk about a level 1 Maneuver master monk.
Can this monk do a full-attack action doing: 1 normal attack (no penalty ?) + 1 bonus combat maneuver attack (at -2 penalty)
or has he to do: 1 combat maneuver (at -2 penalty) + 1 bonus combat maneuver (at -2 penalty).

Thanks for your answers


Yes, you can mix normal attacks with your free maneuver. You only take the -2 penalty to CMB with maneuvers during a flurry of maneuvers.

However, you don't get to treat your monk level as your BAB for your normal attacks like you would with a flurry of blows.


I/m pretty sure he can do his normal attack or maneuver(no penalty) and additional combat maneuver (-2 penalty).

Although, I have an add-on question. Can the Maneuver Master freely mix any combat maneuver for any of his attcks, "whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action"? Or does this only apply to his additional maneuvers from FoM?

Grand Lodge

Pretty sure it is on Maneuvers from FOM only. Thats how we're playing it anyway. Of course trip can take the place of an attack anyway.


WRoy wrote:
However, you don't get to treat your monk level as your BAB for your normal attacks like you would with a flurry of blows.

MM Monk retains Maneuver Training class feature, so at least from level 3 onwards, this doesn't actually matter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Maneuver Master Monk question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions