Maneuver master monk ability "Maneuver defense"


Rules Questions


Maneuver Defense (Ex): At 3rd level, if a maneuver master has an Improved combat maneuver feat, any creature attempting that maneuver against the maneuver master provokes an attack of opportunity, even if it would not normally do so. This ability replaces still min

If a creature with Grab or Trip ...like a monster..bear or cat hits with their attack and they get a free trip or grapple...does the monk get an AoO against that target for attempting the maneuver??

My dm said no...but i disagree...the monk ability states that--

"any creature attempting that maneuver against the maneuver master provokes an attack of opportunity, even if it would not normally do so"
if it were just against someone with improved ability wouldn't it just say that??? shouldn't it work anytime a maneuver is performed? even from a free trip or grab??


Provided you qualify...

Quote:
if a maneuver master has an Improved combat maneuver feat

(meaning the relevant feat to the maneuver being performed on you)

You should get your AoO (affecting the CMB roll of your opponent)


that what i thought


Agreed. We rule it that way. I love trip / grapple monsters now :)


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

you should definitely get the AoO. grab vs. improved grapple doesn't matter.
imp maneuver feats are never mentioned, you just get an AoO no matter what.

what my question is, is does any damage done by the AoO increase your CMD?
(as is normal for attempting a maneuver without imp grapple, grab, etc)
i would lean towards 'yes', but it isn't clear.
there's other stuff with similar wording, brutal pugilist's ability vs. grapple is very similar,
and Come and Get Me could also plausibly allow AoO dmg to CMD, although that isn't specifically connected to the AoO related to a Maneuver like these other abilities are.

hit the FAQ...


My Dm thinks that there shouldn't be an AoO because the monster is getting the trip or grapple as free action after a bite or hit that wouldn't normally provoke and AoO. is there any clarification by pathfinder on this or is it strictly house rule how its ruled? or is he just making something more complicated then it is an just denying me a AoO??


The class feature does not restrict the action in any way. There is no basis in the rules to deny you the AoO, he is using a houserule.


You get the AoO.

Your DM is wrong.


Only thing I would add. A monster doesn't NEED to use this ability.
So after getting hit once, it doesn't need to do it again.

...I'm a few years too late aren't I?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Maneuver master monk ability "Maneuver defense" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions