
![]() |

In some situations, your movement may be so hampered that you don't have sufficient speed even to move 5 feet (1 square). In such a case, you may use a full-round action to move 5 feet (1 square) in any direction, even diagonally. Even though this looks like a 5-foot step, it's not, and thus it provokes attacks of opportunity normally. (You can't take advantage of this rule to move through impassable terrain or to move when all movement is prohibited to you.)
To use this feat, you must make a single unarmed attack as a standard action. If this unarmed attack hits, you deal damage normally, and the target's base land speed is reduced to 5 feet for a number of rounds equal to your Wisdom modifier unless it makes a Fortitude saving throw (DC 10 + 1/2 your character level + your Wis modifier).
The only time you can’t take a 5-foot step as a non-action (that does not provoke AoOs) is when your speed is reduced, for whatever reason, to less than 5 feet (of course there may be spells or ability/feat effects that indicate, for that particular effect, otherwise).
To answer your question succinctly: Yes, they can take a 5-foot step as a free / non-action that does not provoke an AoO after failing their save vs. Scorpion Style.

StreamOfTheSky |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Andrew, is incorrect. From the Combat section of the PRD:
Take 5-Foot Step
You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.
You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.
Which actually conflicts a bit with his quote. I've always taken it as:
Speed 5 ft = moving 5 ft requires a move action.
Speed less than 5 ft but more than 0 ft = full round action to move 5 ft.
Speed 0 ft = You cannot move. Sucks to be you.