Reposition Combat Maneuver - unseen / unknown danger


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Advanced Player's Guide states that you cannot use the Reposition Combat Maneuver to "maneuver a foe into a space that is intrinsically dangerous, such as a pit or wall of fire."

This makes sense, as the use of the maneuver is, as I understand it, not to grab the target and push/pull/shove them into their new position but, rather, to "shepherd" them there. So, understandably, any foe with any awareness of its surroundings will not willingly step backwards off a cliff - even if an opponent is trying to "out-maneuver" them there. However what if the square you are moving them to is "intrinsically dangerous" but not abundantly obvious - say a deadly trap trigger, for example? Would this limitation of the rule still apply?

Would a house rule allowing for an immediate perception check (at GM's discretion and perhaps with corresponding penalties) by any target being Repositioned into a non-obvious but immanent danger be appropriate?


As this is a question that is related to something I am working on, does anyone have any further opinion. I found the question but it went unanswered. Any thoughts guys?

Silver Crusade

Trapped squares are not intrinsically dangerous in most circumstances. Traps are subtle, possessing no obvious indicators, and require failed saving throws to affect an individual. They do not take up the square, merely exist within it. To put it more clearly, the trap is dangerous, the location it resides may not be.


So, you could reposition someone into a square that is the location of a covered pit trap and it would be valid? Say a troll is standing at the edge of a pit trap (which he made and therefore knows where it is), he could reposition a PC to a square adjacent to him but over the trap, therefore causing the PC to trigger the trap and fall in the pit. Is this correct? And is there something official that can be sited in this case?


I'd say you cannot move someone into a square that the target considers intrinsically dangerous. This is about the target's personal knowledge.

If a troll knows that there is a pit trap in a square and a player does not, he can move the player into the square but the player cannot move the troll into the square. Likewise, I'd argue that something with airwalk can be repositioned into empty air because the target will not actually fall.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reposition Combat Maneuver - unseen / unknown danger All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions