What does the "Control" in the Gate spell entail?


Rules Questions


I'm having a discussion with my GM about what "Controlling a creature of HD equal or less than your CL" means for the Gate spell.

The impressions are:

GM: Its fluff meaning that it won't kill you immediately when you summon it, but does nothing more than that.

I think it might be more than that (i.e. similar to the control you have over Summon Monster spells), since you spend 10 grand a pop on the spell and the fact is says "control".

Does anyone have a concrete answer to this?


I have nothing concrete at the moment, but It sounds like it is controlled as if it were summoned (because it is). SImply not killing you is not control.


prd wrote:
If you choose to call a kind of creature instead of a known individual, you may call either a single creature or several creatures. In either case, their total HD cannot exceed twice your caster level. In the case of a single creature, you can control it if its HD does not exceed your caster level. A creature with more HD than your caster level can't be controlled. Deities and unique beings cannot be controlled in any event. An uncontrolled being acts as it pleases, making the calling of such creatures rather dangerous. An uncontrolled being may return to its home plane at any time.

I quoted a relevant bit from the spell description in the PRD above, but in my opinion the short answer is that control means that they do what you say. It doesn't make much sense as a purely flavour element. Why would something that was 'fluff' refer to game mechanics like HD and caster level? The description also specifies that an uncontrolled beng acts as it pleases, furthering the idea that the controlled being does not act as it pleases.


I would think the creature obeys your commands just like a summoned creature would.


If control works that way, what would be the duration of the "control", since the spell does not specify duration for a called creature.

And thank you for your input.


Concentration is the duration so that would seem to be it. It does seem that if you don't want to concentrate on the spell that you can bargain with it.

Duration instantaneous or concentration (up to 1 round/level); see text

--------------------------

If you choose to exact a longer or more involved form of service from a called creature, you must offer some fair trade in return for that service. The service exacted must be reasonable with respect to the promised favor or reward; see the lesser planar ally spell for appropriate rewards.


I would agree, but the concentration duration specifically appears below the planar travel aspect of the spell:

Planar Travel: As a mode of planar travel, a gate spell functions much like a plane shift spell, except that the gate opens precisely at the point you desire (a creation effect). Deities and other beings who rule a planar realm can prevent a gate from opening in their presence or personal demesnes if they so desire. Travelers need not join hands with you--anyone who chooses to step through the portal is transported. A gate cannot be opened to another point on the same plane; the spell works only for interplanar travel.

You may hold the gate open only for a brief time (no more than 1 round per caster level), and you must concentrate on doing so, or else the interplanar connection is severed.

----------------------------------

Where there is no specified duration for the Calling (which I'm assuming is the instantaneous part of the duration).


I will admit I was kind of guessing. I might start a thread just to ask that question tomorrow.


If the duration is concentration and you summon up something with 20hd (assume level 20) it is only under your control while you are concentration, which is fair, you do anything else and you have an angry 20hd monster at your feet.
This also brings in the genie and wishing. Whats to stop you from commanding said monster, under your control at the time, to follow your orders when it isn't in your control any more.
If the duration isn't concentration, You have a spell that can call out the biggest baddest monsters of the planes, with no Save, no SR, and no duration. so for 10,000 gold you have a pet pit fiend.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What does the "Control" in the Gate spell entail? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions