Can a caster cast a spell while prone, what penalties?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Can a caster cast a spell while prone, what penalties?


Yes, a caster can cast while prone, with no penalty to his ability to cast spells. The penalty for being prone is to AC (well, and to the ability to move normally, ie. you must stand before you can move at your base land speed). If you are threatened by enemies, you must roll a concentration check as normal, or provoke an attack of opportunity.


You can't use "a ranged weapon" when prone though, and Ranged Touch Attacks have similarities to those (such as there being a Weapon Focus (Ray) feat). So your DM might rule you can't cast ranged attack spells.


You can't use bows or slings while prone, but you most certainly can use crossbows while prone. I would say that a ranged-touch attack is no more cumbersome to make than a shot with a crossbow.


Can you supply a quote VRMH? I have never heard of that as a general rule.

Grand Lodge

Yes. None.


Aside: The OP posted already, and I responded to the first one. But I guess the party is over here.

Pax Veritas wrote:
Can a caster cast a spell while prone, what penalties?

Yes. No penalties associated with Prone other than what the Prone Condition states - and any normal spell casting hindrances (as if standing).

PRD: Glossary wrote:

Prone: The character is lying on the ground. A prone attacker has a –4 penalty on melee attack rolls and cannot use a ranged weapon (except for a crossbow). A prone defender gains a +4 bonus to Armor Class against ranged attacks, but takes a –4 penalty to AC against melee attacks.

@Wraithstrike -
The no ranged weapons while prone comes from the Prone text. However, spells can act "as" ranged weapons, but they are not ranged weapons. In this case, I would think the prone restriction would be to doing something physically challenging while lying down (pulling your bow back, slinging) and not pertaining to spells (even weapon-like) spells which come at the flick of a wrist.


Thanks Stynkk. I agree with what the intent was behind ranged weapons also.

Sovereign Court Raging Swan Press

I don't see why you couldn't use a ranged touch spell like ray of enfeeblement while prone. giving most such spells shoot for ranged touch, the -4 to hit isn't a massive deal.


I think that by RAI the ranged touch is legal, but RAW it is not. Most GM's would probably allow it.

Sovereign Court

Sorry about the double post, don't know what happened back there.

Also, it seems we are split on this topic. Some say "as intended" the wizard can make the attack, cast the spell, whether ranged or not, with no penalties (except for movement and AC).

Some, however, say that "as written" ... there are issues?

Hmmmn - can anyone look over this thread and clarify?
I have a L7 Necromancer (player) in my game who was knocked prone. Rather than stand up, he decided to stay put and cast from the ground. I guess this should be a simple issue to adjudicate per RAW (which is what I run, with some flexibility where I make rulings).

I guess this seems like it should be simple, yet there are disagreements. Should there be any issues for a caster to cast from prone (even if there is a somatic component involved, or even if its a ranged attack or otherwise?).

I made the ruling that there wasn't any penalty, and it felt ok. If he were threatened, then casting provokes, and I believe a concentration check would apply if he took damage whilst casting. Otherwise, do you think this sounds right per PFRPG ruleset?
Thanks.


Yes, you ruled correctly. The ranged attacking while prone prohibition is there because you can't draw a bowstring or spin a sling while prone. Casting while prone has no penalties, even if the spell has a ranged touch attack. There would be a penalty for a melee touch attack, same as there is a penalty for any melee attack made while prone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a caster cast a spell while prone, what penalties? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.