Order of grapple question and rounds


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So.... the set up.
This is a question on order of the process, not all the technical rolls. We understand that part, but we are having issues understanding the process.

Initiative
Person A 20
Person B 2

[b]Example/b]
Round One:
Person A does whatever.
Person B grapples successfully.

Round Two:
Person A attempts to break free, fails.
Person B grapple check successful, Pin successful.

---
It takes 2 rounds to attempt a pin?

Sorry if it's an easy question, i maybe over thinking things. Never had a character who focused on grapple.

Scarab Sages

You have it right; two rounds.


Yes, you are right, two rounds. Unless you are a maneuver master monk, then you can do both right from the start as part of a flurry in the first round, and even more later on :-)


Looks right. Also remember, in Round Two, Person B's grapple check gets a +5 circumstance bonus because Person A didn't break the grapple (you get the bonus whether A tries to break or not).


If you look up grapple on the d20pfsrd page, there is an awesome chart of what can be done and when during grappling.

Liberty's Edge

Yes, 2 rounds unless you have special abilities. Its one thing of several things that changed from 3.5 where a Grapple and a Pin were both in place of attacks, so you could in 3.5 and had a BAB of 6 do a Full Attack and attempt to grapple and then pin in one go.


Sangalor wrote:
Unless you are a maneuver master monk, then you can do both right from the start as part of a flurry in the first round, and even more later on :-)

Are you sure about that Sangalor?

Flurry of Maneuvers wrote:
Flurry of Maneuvers (Ex): At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action. The maneuver master uses his monk level in place of his base attack bonus to determine his CMB for the bonus maneuvers, though all combat maneuver checks suffer a –2 penalty when using a flurry.

It says "as part of a full-attack action", but a grapple is a standard action and not part of a full attack action? So by RAW Im reading that you can initiate a flurry of maneuvers as a full-attack and start out by trying to grapple your opponent (with a -2), but if you then succeeds, you are doen. If you fail - you can continue your full-atack (and try additional maneuvers like trip, sunder and disarm, that can be part of a full-attack).

Ehm, and sorry for the threadjack...


Derwalt wrote:
Sangalor wrote:
Unless you are a maneuver master monk, then you can do both right from the start as part of a flurry in the first round, and even more later on :-)

Are you sure about that Sangalor?

Flurry of Maneuvers wrote:
Flurry of Maneuvers (Ex): At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action. The maneuver master uses his monk level in place of his base attack bonus to determine his CMB for the bonus maneuvers, though all combat maneuver checks suffer a –2 penalty when using a flurry.

It says "as part of a full-attack action", but a grapple is a standard action and not part of a full attack action? So by RAW Im reading that you can initiate a flurry of maneuvers as a full-attack and start out by trying to grapple your opponent (with a -2), but if you then succeeds, you are doen. If you fail - you can continue your full-atack (and try additional maneuvers like trip, sunder and disarm, that can be part of a full-attack).

Ehm, and sorry for the threadjack...

Yes, you can. Reread the bolded part above :-)

Grand Lodge

Thank you everyone for answering. I do appriciated.

Ayrphish wrote:
If you look up grapple on the d20pfsrd page, there is an awesome chart of what can be done and when during grappling.

The chart is okay. I don't like thier "round break out". It's what lead to me being more confused.

Round 1 - Grapple.
Round 2 - Defensive action
Round 3 - Continue grapple.

"Round 1 and Round 2" can happen in the same actual round based on initiaive. So that part of the chart is confusing.

Shadow Lodge

And depending on feats, round 1 and 3 can happen in the same round...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Order of grapple question and rounds All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions