Clarification of a text.


Rules Questions


In the Serpent's Skull players guide there is a line that has caused a friend of mine some confusion, it goes like this.

"Also, a paladin’s mount can
often prove troublesome in the claustrophobic jungle
tangles and shadowy ruins common to the upcoming
adventures—making the ability to summon and dismiss
such a companion at will most beneficial."

Basically, as he is currently playing a Paladin in my game he wants to know if there is a way to do what it says, dismiss his mount at will.
Does anybody know what that line references?


Look at a Paladin's Divine Bond. Plus I think there is 1 Paladin Spell that may do something with the Mount.


Seems to be an error. Paladin can summon his mount to his side, but cannot dismiss it. I believe this is because the mount used to have a limited duration (one or two hours per level) and could be dismissed.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Not sure what the intent on this text is, but when we switched from 3.5 to PFRPG halfway through Shackled City, our GM allowed my paladin to continue to dismiss her mount like she could before the change. Maybe this text is encouraging the same rule change.


Many of the adventure paths make offhand references to 3.5 rules and terminology. Take them all with a grain of salt.


Well, thank you all.
I guess I will just have to make a houserule on this one.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification of a text. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions