Mithral armor


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So mithral armor is always masterwork in quality. Does mithral's armor check penalty reduction of 3 already have the masterwork reduction of 1 factored in?


Yes it does.

Dark Archive

Yes it's already factored in.

Full plate's AC penalty is ordinarily -6, and here is Mithral Full Plate of Speed. The AC penalty is -3.


Strife2002 wrote:
So mithral armor is always masterwork in quality. Does mithral's armor check penalty reduction of 3 already have the masterwork reduction of 1 factored in?

Yes.

If you look at the Mithral Shirt item and compare it to a Normal Chain shirt modified by the Mithral properties, they will be equal only if you do not further reduce the ACP for masterwork.


Is mithril armor considered magical in nature? When I look at the magic item database, it seems to suggest that its not magical as it doesn't have a magical aura. How to differentiate between magical and non magical?


Mithral armor is not automatically magical. None of the special materials in the core rulebook are automatically magical. Magical armors all have at least a +1 enhancement bonus to AC.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, but it is automatically considered silver.

So if the gnome is wearing a mithril breastplate, you can use them to beat up the werewolf.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

No, but it is automatically considered silver.

So if the gnome is wearing a mithril breastplate, you can use them to beat up the werewolf.

Cast align weapon on him and he goes clean through some outsiders.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Blue Star wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

No, but it is automatically considered silver.

So if the gnome is wearing a mithril breastplate, you can use them to beat up the werewolf.

Cast align weapon on him and he goes clean through some outsiders.

"Like a hot knife through butter"...

"Like an aligned gnome through devils"...?


Cast align weapon on him and he goes clean through some outsiders.

What if the gnome is already good?

Dark Archive

If it's a gnome eldritch knight in a mithral breastplate, will he go through DR/magic?


Reading this thread made me laugh so hard I was in pain >.<

So glad the gnome hate is just as strong in pathfinder as in some MMOs, rofl


BigNorseWolf wrote:

Cast align weapon on him and he goes clean through some outsiders.

What if the gnome is already good?

Sadly, it doesn't work that way, or a paladin could just punch devils to death without having to smite first.

Dark Archive

An Ogre who uses a gnome paladin in full plate with catch off-guard.

"IT QUALIFY AS HOLY WEAPON! WEAPON, USE SMITE THING!"

Dark Archive

two words, gnome-chucks...

dual wielding gnome monks by a giant monk. the gnomes, due to ki pool and the monks "attack with any body part" can act as magic, lawful weapons.

The only question is, do they count as monk weapons for flurry?

Dark Archive

Well they're monks, and they're weapons. So yeah.

Grand Lodge

Does anyone remember the fling ally feat from race of stone? It had a picture of a Goliath tossing a very scary oompa loompa like gnome. I keep getting that nightmarish picture in my head.

Grand Lodge

BigNorseWolf wrote:
No, but it is automatically considered silver.

Holy crap...! I can't believe I didn't know this! Was this something they introduced in PF or have I been oblivious to this in my 3.x days also?

Oh and Blackbloodtroll, that's the only image from that book that continuously stands out to me, and the only one I can ever remember. Horrific.


Strife2002 wrote:
I can't believe I didn't know this! Was this something they introduced in PF or have I been oblivious to this in my 3.x days also?

Mithral weapons count as silver for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.

d20 Mithral doesn't have the same line, so I assume it's new to PF.

(And it specifies weapons, so the gnome would need mithral gauntlets in order to be effectively used as silver chucks, and the breastplate doesn't include them!)


(And it specifies weapons, so the gnome would need mithral gauntlets in order to be effectively used as silver chucks, and the breastplate doesn't include them!)

or armor spikes maybe?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mithral armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.