Fire Magic with Water type Question


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So I'm not getting the answer that I desperately need for a player, from the people who made it, so I'm hoping I can get the answer here.

Got a question about the spell, Steam Bolt, from Genius Guide to Fire Magic. It's evocation (fire, water). What does that mean for the Elemental Specialist Wizard? Does that count as one or two spell slots for a fire mage, or water mage? What about Elemental Focus? Do you need to take two versions of that feat because it's water/fire?


Not one of the designers of that, so feel free to ignore me.

That said, the game is built to favor the player. Despite the fact that the elemental descriptors are opposites, class abilities are meant to strengthen something, so I would say the fact it has [Fire] means a person would get the benefits of it being within their specialty. And as such it would not receive the penalties for [Water] being opposed to it, and vice versa.

Simplest, easiest, play friendly. If there is a "proper" way to run this that deviates from those three states, it better have a good reason to do so.

My 2 cp.


I agree, in 2e AD&D I always read spells with two schools in a way for it to be most favorable to the PC, and that is what I would do with subtypes in 3.5 or pathfinder as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fire Magic with Water type Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions