Beginner Question About Spellbooks and Magic


Rules Questions


A wizard knows all spells available for his level? But he can only prepare a certain number? Each day he can swap out spells? Can someone give me a simple run down as to how this works? Just trying to figure this out!

Shadow Lodge

Everyday after getting his/her (8hrs) of rest, a wizard (not sorcerer) has to choose which spells from his spell book they are going to put into the available slots they have. The number of slots and at which level depend on the level of wizard. Once a spell is used it is gone until the wizard gets more rest. A wizard fills his/her spell book with spells by; going up in levels, or copying them from other spell books, or from scrolls found.

This is a quick go at it because I have to run in a sec, but I'm sure others can elaborate.

edit:spelling


To elaborate, a wizard also does not know every spell available, only what's in his book.


judo69 wrote:
Can someone give me a simple run down as to how this works?

Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).

Liberty's Edge

I think the missing part of the puzzle for OP is class list.

All wizards have all spells on their class list. This is the list of spells the wizard COULD learn. It also provides the list of spells that could be in a scroll, wand, or other form of spell completion or spell trigger magic item. If it isn't on the class list, the wizard cannot learn it or use a completion/trigger item without using UMD.

Of those spells on the class list, he can learn spells, which he puts in his spell book. The number of spells he learns is largely unlimited.

Of the spells in his spellbook, he can prepare a given number each day based upon his spell slots, which are determined by his level. For each spell he prepares for a given day, he can cast each one once. He can opt to put the same spell in more than one slot, and can then cast that spell as many times as he prepares it. For example, if he prepares magic missile twice, he can cast it twice that day. Cantrips must be prepared, but can be cast an unlimited number of times per day.


Grick wrote:
judo69 wrote:
Can someone give me a simple run down as to how this works?

Spellbooks: A wizard must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook, except for read magic, which all wizards can prepare from memory.

A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells (except those from his prohibited schools, if any; see Arcane Schools) plus three 1st-level spells of his choice. The wizard also selects a number of additional 1st-level spells equal to his Intelligence modifier to add to the spellbook. At each new wizard level, he gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that he can cast (based on his new wizard level) for his spellbook. At any time, a wizard can also add spells found in other wizards' spellbooks to his own (see Magic).

Glad you asked, I was curious about this as well.


Howie23 wrote:

I think the missing part of the puzzle for OP is class list.

All wizards have all spells on their class list. This is the list of spells the wizard COULD learn. It also provides the list of spells that could be in a scroll, wand, or other form of spell completion or spell trigger magic item. If it isn't on the class list, the wizard cannot learn it or use a completion/trigger item without using UMD.

Of those spells on the class list, he can learn spells, which he puts in his spell book. The number of spells he learns is largely unlimited.

Of the spells in his spellbook, he can prepare a given number each day based upon his spell slots, which are determined by his level. For each spell he prepares for a given day, he can cast each one once. He can opt to put the same spell in more than one slot, and can then cast that spell as many times as he prepares it. For example, if he prepares magic missile twice, he can cast it twice that day. Cantrips must be prepared, but can be cast an unlimited number of times per day.

Oh speaking of which, what about classes where it doesn't define how many they get, like druids or clerics. (I don't mean how many a day they can cast, I mean how many they get at each level_ do druids get ALL the spells at each level? Clerics etc? Thanks guys.

Sasha


From the Pathfinder SRD under the entry for Clerics"

"Clerics meditate or pray for their spells. Each cleric must choose a time when she must spend 1 hour each day in quiet contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. A cleric may prepare and cast any spell on the cleric spell list, provided that she can cast spells of that level, but she must choose which spells to prepare during her daily meditation."

Essentially, Clerics (and druids) can choose from any spell on the Appropriate Class list of spells when they prepare them, whereas Wizards can choose spells only from what is recorded in their Spell book when preparing spells.


This is EXACTLY the info I was looking for! Thanks everybody!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Beginner Question About Spellbooks and Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions