Animal attacks


Advice


I just got to lvl 7 with my druid and i have a tiger which is a large cat. He now gets grab, pounce, and rake. As well as his regular attacks of 2 claws and a bite. I bought a collar of magicv fang +2 for him and he has multiattack feat and weapon focus (claws). I have NO clue how to work his attacks for a full attack action or even if i charge what do i do?


There are options you have so it depends on what you do. If you charge you add +2 to all of you attack rolls on the charge. The +2 from the collar adds +2 to attacks, and damage rolls. You don't need multi attack because the claws and bite are both primary attacks. Your claws will have get an additional +1 from the feat.

If you hit with either claw attack you can attempt to grapple as a free action, but then you gain the grappled condition. Knowing when to grapple, and when not to grapple is a strategic decision.

IIRC you get to rake if the grapple check succeeds.

Contributor

Moved thread.


If i dont need multiatack what feat do you recommend me getting for him instead of it?

his stats are
STR: 15
DEX: 19
CON: 13
INT: 3
WIS: 15
CHA: 10

would i benefit from two weapon fighting with it or maybe weapon finese?

Liberty's Edge

Two Weapon Fighting only applies to manufactured weapons so it's a waste on an animal. Weapon Finesse, on the other hand, is good for anything with a DEX higher than it's STR and that includes many animals so it's a good choice. Improved Natural Attack (bite) and (claw) would get you a little more damage, but keep in mind you'd need to take it twice to cover both attacks. There might be better feats for a tiger, but I haven't built one so that's just off the top of my head. At any rate, boost the tiger's INT to 3 when you get a chance if you haven't already done so. That'll give it the option to take any feats for which it qualifies (and is physically capable) and not just the ones on the Animal Companion list.


OK i swapped out multiattack with imp natural attack claws. Now if my tiger is right next to an enemy and doing a full attack which is 2 claws and a bite, do they have any (-) to attack like a person has with 2 weapon fighting? And when do I get the rake ability to add in? Is there a bonus for pouncing on an enemy after the charge or is the charge good enough?

Liberty's Edge

Since Claws and Bites are both considered Primary attacks, there is no penalty to hit or damage to any of the three attacks. According to the Core Rules, it should already have Rake for 1d4 damage. Did you use the Core Rules Tiger companion for your druid?

Starting Statistics: Size Medium; Speed 40 ft.; AC +1 natural armor; Attack bite (1d6), 2 claws (1d4); Ability Scores Str 13, Dex 17, Con 13, Int 2, Wis 15, Cha 10; Special Attacks rake (1d4); Special Qualities low-light vision, scent.

7th-Level Advancement: Size Large; AC +2 natural armor; Attack bite (1d8), 2 claws (1d6); Ability Scores Str +8, Dex –2, Con +4; Special Attacks grab, pounce, rake (1d6).

The benefit of Pounce is that the tiger can make a full attack at the end of its charge. Otherwise, it still takes the -2 penalty to AC and gains the +2 to attacks.


Yes i did take teh core one and the stats i listed above are his as of lvl 6 i havent added in the lvl 7 adjustments yet.

Ok so I want to pounce whenever i charge an enemy got it. When do i get to add in Rake damage? is it something like rend for players when they hit with both hands you add extra damage, or is this something totally different?

Liberty's Edge

Here are the rules for Rake, but I've also provided a link to the PFSRD. Many of the basic questions you might have about Animal Companions, Natural Attacks, etc. can be answered by searching its useful pages. I keep the thing bookmarked for easy reference during games.

Rake (Ex)

A creature with this special attack gains extra natural attacks under certain conditions, typically when it grapples its foe. In addition to the options available to all grapplers, a monster with the rake ability gains two free claw attacks that it can use only against a grappled foe. The bonus and damage caused by these attacks is included in the creature’s description. A monster with the rake ability must begin its turn already grappling to use its rake—it can’t begin a grapple and rake in the same turn.


thank you that helped out tremendously

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Animal attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice