Monkey Lunge = Standard Action?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Prerequisites: Lunge, Acrobatics 1 rank.

Benefit: As a standard action, you can use the Lunge feat to increase the reach of your melee attacks by 5 feet until the end of your turn, without suffering a penalty to your AC. You cannot use this feat if you carry a medium or heavy load.

Normal: You take a -2 penalty to your AC until your next turn when making a lunge attack.

This makes little to no sense. You can't make attacks if you use your standard action to increase your range. It won't even help with AoOs since it ends at the end of your turn.


What source is this from? I can't find it in the PRD.


Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
What source is this from? I can't find it in the PRD.

Pathfinder Companion: Sargava, the Lost Colony

Monkey Lunge (Combat)

As written, it doesn't really do anything.


I'm pretty sure the intent is just to negate the AC penalty to using Lunge, but as written, it's only useful if you have multiple standard actions (Monk of the Four Winds), or if you have some way to make attacks as move or swift actions.

Contributor

I think the intended purpose is to make one Lunge attack as a standard action without suffering the penalty.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monkey Lunge = Standard Action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions