Dumb Question: How many attacks do monsters get really?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm trying to make heads and tails of the Bestiary. At lower CR, it's understandable that most monsters get only one attack per round, same as the PCs that go against them. At later levels, they get more, like a balor, who can attack 4 times with his sword.

But when I read over a Dragon with the same CR, they seem to only have one attack, is this right?

When something is listed as "2x Claws", does that mean that they have the option to attack as if using two handed weapons or they actually have two attacks that can be rolled without penalty?


If they are listed as only having a Bite for example, they only ever get to do one Bite even if their BAB allows iterative attacks.

In a full attack you can attack with all of your natural weapons AND melee weapons (including unarmed attacks) as long as the natural weapon and melee weapon attacks originate from different limbs. However, this gives you the penalties for two-weapon fighting (counting the natural weapons as light weapons) on your melee weapon attacks while all of your natural weapons count as secondary.

Dark Archive

3 people marked this as a favorite.

They get them all. The Young Black Dragon on p. 92, for instance, gets a bite, two claw attacks *and* two wing attacks whenever it qualifies for a Full Attack.

If it does not qualify for a Full Attack, it can only take one of these attacks (and will probably choose the bite, as it's the most accurate and the most damaging).

You can see from the attack bonuses and damage bonuses that the single bite attack is getting 1.5 Str mod to damage (and +1 to hit from its weapon focus feat), while the two claw attacks are only getting 1x Str mod to damage, and the two wing attacks are secondary attacks (-5 to hit and only .5x Str mod to damage).

You can see a creature only getting one attack with multiple limbs in the Octopus, which has a single 'tentacles' attack (the *Giant* Octopus, on the other hand, has eight individual tentacle attacks *and* a bite attack!).

Where it can seem confusing is with a creature like the Bulette (p 39) or Bebelith (p 32) which has in it's melee attack line 'bite *and* 2 claws', where the Bear (p 30) or Cat, Cheetah or Leopard (p 40)) has 'bite, 2 claws' or '2 claws, bite.' This could be seen to imply that the Bears or Cats have to choose a bite *or* 2 claws, while the Bebelith or Bulette can do all of them at the same time. That's just inconsistent phrasing. All of these creatures get both claw attacks *and* a bite attack on a full attack, and only a single attack on a standard attack.

If a creature does have to make a choice, the phrasing should be handled the way it is for the Giant Frog (p 135), which states 'bite *or* tongue,' making explicit that it can only choose one of these attacks at a time.

This does, of course, mean that some critters (Chimera, Gargoyles, Deinonychus) will have a bunch of attacks on a full attack, and will be appropriately butt-kicking...

The Hound Archon (p 19) is another useful example. It can make a bite *and* a slam attack (both primary attacks) *or* a pair of greatsword iterative attacks *and* a secondary bite attack.


I take it that a creature with 'bite and two claws' can do a bite attack then attack with two claws as a full attack. While attacking two claws are done at two weapon fighting penalties or merely ALL attacks are done with penalties if they are fully used?


Justin Cheng 901 wrote:
I take it that a creature with 'bite and two claws' can do a bite attack then attack with two claws as a full attack. While attacking two claws are done at two weapon fighting penalties or merely ALL attacks are done with penalties if they are fully used?

Let's use an example to make sure you see how this works:

Monster's BAB: +3
Monster's Strength modifier: +2
Monster has a bite and 2 claws, both are primary attacks.

Full Attack: Bite at +5, 1st Claw at +5, 2nd Claw at +5.

Unless the monster has attacks that are listed as secondary attacks (like a untrained horse's hooves) they never take a penalty on the attack rolls of their natural weapons.


You're overthinking this.

Attack action: One attack, pick one.

Full attack action: all the attacks listed. Primary attacks are made with no penalty, no matter how many of them there areor whether the monster gets secondary attacks. Secondary attacks are made at -5 (or -2 if the critter has multi attack)


It depends on the natural attack type. Some are primary and some are secondary. Check out the Universal Monster Rules section of the Bestiary to see what's what. Look for Natural Weapons.

Claws and bite will all be at full bonus, as they are primary.


Trikk wrote:
However, this gives you the penalties for two-weapon fighting (counting the natural weapons as light weapons) on your melee weapon attacks while all of your natural weapons count as secondary.

This is actually incorrect. The mention of how to use natural weapons with manufactured weapons in the core book is wrong and has been errated to follow the bestiary: Making any attacks with manufactured weapons causes all your natural attacks to be secondary, but there are no other penalties to either your natural or manufactured attacks.


Justin Cheng 901 wrote:
I take it that a creature with 'bite and two claws' can do a bite attack then attack with two claws as a full attack. While attacking two claws are done at two weapon fighting penalties or merely ALL attacks are done with penalties if they are fully used?

All the penalties that would apply are already incorporated into the monster's statblocks. This is the case for all monsters in the Bestiaries. Basically, all the work has already been done for you.


I see, so then monster attacks are basically use 'as is'. Wow, that makes for some rather powerful monsters. Some could down a caster with their full attacks!


MungBean wrote:
I see, so then monster attacks are basically use 'as is'. Wow, that makes for some rather powerful monsters. Some could down a caster with their full attacks!

And that's why they're called "squishies" :)


MungBean wrote:
I see, so then monster attacks are basically use 'as is'. Wow, that makes for some rather powerful monsters. Some could down a caster with their full attacks!

It is the Squishy that has to make sure it doesn't give you the chance to get that full attack. They learn.


So when a bestiary lists one attack in melee - say "bite+15 (2d6+9 plus grab)" but under special attacks it has breath weapon, rake (6 claw attacks, swallow whole, and constrict...special attacks aren't all added, right? It has to choose one or the other (it's full melee or 1 special attack)?

Scarab Sages

Are wrote:
Justin Cheng 901 wrote:
I take it that a creature with 'bite and two claws' can do a bite attack then attack with two claws as a full attack. While attacking two claws are done at two weapon fighting penalties or merely ALL attacks are done with penalties if they are fully used?

All the penalties that would apply are already incorporated into the monster's statblocks. This is the case for all monsters in the Bestiaries. Basically, all the work has already been done for you.

Power Attack (if the creature has it) is often not factored into the stat block, for to-hit or damage. But yes, the penalties for primary or secondary natural attacks, or for twf, or for fighting with a manufactured weapon and natural weapons should already be counted.


Starting a new thread would have been preferable to animating one from five years ago.

Different special attacks apply under different circumstances. Breath weapons are standard actions (unless specified otherwise), so they are typically incompatible with full attacks. Swallow Whole and Constrict are both part of grappling, which is also incompatible with full attacks (as it requires a standard action to maintain). Rake is either part of grappling, or is part of a pounce; the latter IS included in full attacks, but only while charging.


If monster have 2bite attacks. On standard action it attacks with one bite or 2?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

One.

For a standard action, except when using special abilities or specific options (such as the cleave feat), a creature will usually use the attack action (the standard action called "attack"), which allows a single attack to be made.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dumb Question: How many attacks do monsters get really? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.