Silly Question - please help


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Can you remind me how to read the "Attacks" line in the Bestiaries. Some of these creatures have bite/claw/claw/tail/etc., and they aren't separated by an "OR" statement. Can they move and still get all the attacks listed? Thanks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No. Unless a creature has the pounce special ability, it gets 1 attack with a move action, unless something is specifically listed otherwise.

Also, its more courteous to the community to put something about your actual question in the title, as opposed to something completely non-descript. This will get people knowledgeable about your specific problem to help you :)

Liberty's Edge

Pax Veritas wrote:
Can you remind me how to read the "Attacks" line in the Bestiaries. Some of these creatures have bite/claw/claw/tail/etc., and they aren't separated by an "OR" statement. Can they move and still get all the attacks listed? Thanks.

The attacks that are comma separated are all the attacks usable on a full round action. If there is an OR, then you either do the set before or after the OR on a full round action. On a move and attack, then get a single attack. It would be up to you to determine what attack.

example: Lizardfolk

Offense

Speed 30 ft., swim 15 ft.

Melee morningstar +2 (1d8+1), bite +0 (1d4), or claw +2 (1d4+1), bite +2 (1d4+1)

Ranged javelin +1 (1d6+1)

On a full attack, he either claw and bite OR morningstar and bite. After a move, he could either claw, bite, or morningstar, depending on how he is equipped.

Sovereign Court

So for example a Dragonne B3p104 can either bite and move or use 2 claws and move if is stats are: bite+13 (1d8+5), 2 claws +13 (1d6+5).
Then on a full round action can do both bite and 2 claws plus 5 foot step if desired. Good. This is how I been running things. *wipes sweat from brow*

But...

I been planning to run a red dragon and see the stats as:
bite +17 (2d6+10), 2 claws +17 (1d8+7), 2 wings +12 (1d6+3), tail slap +12 (1d8+10).

This means, provided he doesn't move he can maul a player character with a bite and 2 claws and 2 wings and a tail slap.

Yet, if he even moves 10 feet or more it seems the mighty dragon can only bite OR 2 claws OR 2 wings OR tail slap.

Here is a follow up question that is scenario based. Provided the prior logic is still correct, then on a turn he can:

a) Move and use an at-will power or
b) Move and use 1 attack type
c) Move and cast a spell of levels 1-9
d) Move and cast an orison (0-level-spell)
e) Move and use a breath weapon
f) Move and use a spell-like ability

Here are some odd questions I'd like to confirm:
> The B1 defines spell like ability as something that can be made constant as a swift action. Correct?
> A breath weapon a full round action. Correct?
> An extrordinary ability (EX) is a standard action. Correct?
> A supernatural ability (SU) is a standard action. Correct?
> A spell-like ability (SP) is a standard action. Correct?

This means the red dragon can move and use either an EX or SU or SP on a turn. Correct?

This means the red dragon can use a full round action to Attack... but which of the above (EX, SU, SP) can it also use on that turn?

I ask because some creatures have "constant" spell-like abilities defined as swift actions, which are free.

Thanks for checking my understanding. As you might imagine, its important I run dragons (and all monsters) to the best of their abilities, and I sense that I might be "over-charging" creatures for what they can/cannot do in a round.


Pax Veritas wrote:

So for example a Dragonne B3p104 can either bite and move or use 2 claws and move if is stats are: bite+13 (1d8+5), 2 claws +13 (1d6+5).

Then on a full round action can do both bite and 2 claws plus 5 foot step if desired. Good. This is how I been running things. *wipes sweat from brow*

But...

I been planning to run a red dragon and see the stats as:
bite +17 (2d6+10), 2 claws +17 (1d8+7), 2 wings +12 (1d6+3), tail slap +12 (1d8+10).

This means, provided he doesn't move he can maul a player character with a bite and 2 claws and 2 wings and a tail slap.

Correct. You don't want to stand toe-to-toe with a dragon.

Quote:
Yet, if he even moves 10 feet or more it seems the mighty dragon can only bite OR 2 claws OR 2 wings OR tail slap.

Almost correct. He can bite OR claw OR wing OR tail slap. "2 claws" means he attacks with his claws twice, so his attacks are really bite/claw/claw/wing/wing/tail (choose one after moving).

So yeah, if the dragon moves, he's much less threatening.

Quote:

Here is a follow up question that is scenario based. Provided the prior logic is still correct, then on a turn he can:

a) Move and use an at-will power or
b) Move and use 1 attack type
c) Move and cast a spell of levels 1-9
d) Move and cast an orison (0-level-spell)
e) Move and use a breath weapon
f) Move and use a spell-like ability

All correct.

Quote:


Here are some odd questions I'd like to confirm:
> The B1 defines spell like ability as something that can be made constant as a swift action. Correct?
> A breath weapon a full round action. Correct?
> An extrordinary ability (EX) is a standard action. Correct?
> A supernatural ability (SU) is a standard action. Correct?
> A spell-like ability (SP) is a standard action. Correct?

I'm not sure where you get that spell like abilities can be made constant as a swift action. Certain continuous abilities can be reactivated (if they're turned off) as a swift or free action, and some monsters have Quicken Spell-like Ability as a feat (which then lets them use that particular ability as a swift action), but as a general rule, they're standard actions.

Likewise, breath weapons are standard actions.

Quote:
This means the red dragon can move and use either an EX or SU or SP on a turn. Correct?

Correct

Quote:

This means the red dragon can use a full round action to Attack... but which of the above (EX, SU, SP) can it also use on that turn?

Anything that he can do as a swift or free action - which for dragons means anything he has Quicken for (either a quickened spell or a quickened spell like ability)

Quote:
I ask because some creatures have "constant" spell-like abilities defined as swift actions, which are free.

Swift actions aren't the same as free actions. But if an ability is listed as constant, you can assume it's always up, and if it's turned off (such as by dispel magic), they can bring it back up with no effort.

Quote:

Thanks for checking my understanding. As you might imagine, its important I run dragons (and all monsters) to the best of their abilities, and I sense that I might be "over-charging" creatures for what they can/cannot do in a round.

No problem.

Remember fly-by attack - it lets a dragon fly, take any standard action (attack, breathe, spellcast, etc), then continue flying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Silly Question - please help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions