jason schultz 848
|
can i use a ready move action vs charge to step aside or out the the path of the charger??
can i use tumble as a ready action vs charge to tumble threw the on coming charger?
If i ready a move action vs the charger as he comes in to run me threw to step aside and when i do this can he still attack me after i moved off his line of charge after his full round action??. i know the charger can still make a stander action if he moves normal movement. I know by readying a move action i can only 5ft step has he comes in on me. Im new to being a DM.
Thank for your help on this.
Morgen
|
You can ready to move if you get charged, but you'd have to move to some place where they wouldn't be able to charge you as you'd move first before any movement had begun.
Tumbling is a move action so you can attempt to do that, though your getting very specific in what your trying to do. If attacked I attempt to tumble through them or something like that.
I....really have no idea what your asking in the third one?
| Weables |
A readied action interrupts his action. So events unfold like this.
1. Attacker declares he's charging you. He has not yet moved. You get to use your move action to move to wherever you want.
2. Attacker can now charge you, if the rules still allow him to do so. If you step behind a wall, or behind difficult terrain, he is no longer allowed to charge you. He can then choose to do something else, like throw a rock at your head, or just move up and slam his fist into your various body part.s
| wraithstrike |
You would have to know the person is charging though which is the issue.
What you can do is say when character X moves to within 15 feet of me I will move out of the way. That way his action is wasted.
The tumble is also valid.
As to the 3rd question a charge is very limited. If you move to a place that would force him to change direction you are safe, but if you are still in a square he can threaten without having to change direction you can still be attacked.
jason schultz 848
|
A readied action interrupts his action. So events unfold like this.
1. Attacker declares he's charging you. He has not yet moved. You get to use your move action to move to wherever you want.
2. Attacker can now charge you, if the rules still allow him to do so. If you step behind a wall, or behind difficult terrain, he is no longer allowed to charge you. He can then choose to do something else, like throw a rock at your head, or just move up and slam his fist into your various body part.s
I was looking at it the wrong way. i was thinking i could use my move right befor he gets to me,like a side step.
jason schultz 848
|
You would have to know the person is charging though which is the issue.
What you can do is say when character X moves to within 15 feet of me I will move out of the way. That way his action is wasted.
The tumble is also valid.
As to the 3rd question a charge is very limited. If you move to a place that would force him to change direction you are safe, but if you are still in a square he can threaten without having to change direction you can still be attacked.
thanks that what i was thinking
jason schultz 848
|
in game, just need to say, "im readying a move action" so the players know im going to haft to make a move of some kind by my next turn.If i hold out i can ready agin when my turn comes around.
Our do i haft to say "im readying move vs charge"?? This does no seem right becaues i would never charge knowing hes going to move when i charge in right?? In the book it says that i must say the action im doing,move,swift,free, under specific "conditison" a spell could be a conditison a charge is an action not a condition right??. So just by saying im readying a move action makes the player whos thinking about charging think about his action alittle more befor he goes. that seems right??
Utii
|
Readying an Action
You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
| Elven_Blades |
Our do i haft to say "im readying move vs charge"??
The more specific the better. Wraithstrike's above example (when character x moves within...) is much better wording.
First, it allows you to lock your opponent into the straight line he set as his charge. You get to see the line he is charging along and move out of it. If you simply say "I ready to move vs charge", then the opponent can declare charge, forcing you to move before he locks into a path. After you move, he can still charge you if you are a valid target.
Second, I would recommend having some "readied action card" available to yourself or other players in your group. If you want to ready an action ( we shall use your above question as an example), simply say I ready the action written on this card, and place it face down in everyones view. If the triggering action occurs, flip it up and move out of the charge line. Simply prevents anyone from metagaming, especially if you have an adversarial GM.
Last, if you leave something to open ended, like " I'm readying move vs charge" the GM would be somewhat justified in charging you with a fodder opponent, and forcing you to use your readied action or lose it. Then he could charge you again with the heavy hitter after you have repositioned. Again, the more specific you are, the better control you have over the outcome and use of your ready action.
Utii
|
And again I point out:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character.
if you say i ready when character x moves within... then before he makes a double move towards you, the action that trigger yours ready action you can move, then he will still charge you if he can or make some other move attack whatever.
jason schultz 848
|
And again I point out:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character.if you say i ready when character x moves within... then before he makes a double move towards you, the action that trigger yours ready action you can move, then he will still charge you if he can or make some other move attack whatever.
in the end its just ring around the roesey. I was thinking if i was charging at double speed i would not be able to attack a player that steps aside useing a move action from being ready.Im worng i feel that the charge is the way to go unless ready set. ready set is the only hope for this charging action