Alchemist and magic items


Rules Questions


hi, i was just reading the thread about alchemist and crafting magic thingies and im not sure about if it is able to use wands or scrolls, as i believe (im at work so my search fu here is close to none) an alchemist can use a wand as long as the spell is on his list but he cant use scrolls because he does not have a caster lvl (besides using UMD)is this correct? or an alchemist can use a scroll as long as the spell is on his list and the scroll is arcane?


He can use spell trigger items, not spell completion items. Scrolls are spell completion items, wands are spell trigger items (as would be a staff).


so i could use any staff as long as i got any of the spells in it on my list?


Ismodai wrote:
so i could use any staff as long as i got any of the spells in it on my list?

Yes. You couldn't recharge it though.


VRMH wrote:
Ismodai wrote:
so i could use any staff as long as i got any of the spells in it on my list?
Yes. You couldn't recharge it though.

Could you tell me where that is written? Because otherwise I would disagree with this. You recharge a staff by casting the spell on it right? So why couldn't you pour an extract of the spell onto the staff to recharge it?


Because an extract isn't a spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist and magic items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.