Raktavarna Familiar and Magus


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If a magus through the Familiar arcana and Improved Familiar feat gained a raktavarna rakshasha familiar, when the raktavarna takes the form of a weapon, could the magus use arcane pool to enhance the raktavarna/weapon?

If the answer is yes, the bonuses would obviously not apply to anything if the raktavarna resumed its native form, yes?

If this would work, the statement "my familiar is +1 keen" is rather.... amusing...

This is generalizable to a question about how the Change Shape universal monster ability works when the type is "tiny living object". This applies tomore cases than raktavarna and the magus arcane pool abilities, obviously. Interaction with spells such as weapon of awe or disrupting weapon, or even bless weapon and magic weapon would also seem to be interesting cases.

Grand Lodge

Raktavarna Revolver?

Dark Archive

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Raktavarna Revolver?

Seems a bit outside the normal choices for a raktavarna's change shape, but possible. I was thinking more like "hey, it can decide to be a rapier or a scimitar or a pick or a light mace as an action, and is a smart language-using familiar..."

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

There are one-handed firearms.

The main question is: Is it treated as said object/weapon for purposes of feats, spell, and effects?

Dark Archive

Yep, that's the core question. The simple answer being "no" so that you don't have to deal with weirdness like what happens when it takes an action and shifts back, though... The possibilities of yes are pretty amusing, though.

Grand Lodge

Well, what happens when you try to use a Raktavarna in sword form, as a sword?

Dark Archive

Yep. "tiny living object" is a little unclear on how the polymorph rules are supposed to be applied.

Grand Lodge

Will start a new thread addressing the core question.

Dark Archive

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Will start a new thread addressing the core question.

Moving discussion over to your new thread. I love that Jim's in there holding his head...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Raktavarna Familiar and Magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.