Improved Overrun


Rules Questions


Say you have a character with Improved Overrun. He's surrounded by enemies in a half-circle around him (closed door behind him). If he attempts to overrun one of his enemies, does he still provoke from the other guys surrounding him for leaving their threatened square?


That is tricky, since the feat flat out says you don't provoke.

However, I think you still would provoke for the movement, which makes me question, actually, whether or not an enemy can really make two AoOs against you if you Overrun them from a square they threaten without the feat...


firefly the great wrote:
Say you have a character with Improved Overrun. He's surrounded by enemies in a half-circle around him (closed door behind him). If he attempts to overrun one of his enemies, does he still provoke from the other guys surrounding him for leaving their threatened square?

Yep.

Normally he would provoke from both leaving a threatened square, and again/also from the target of the Overrun for the unimproved combat maneuver. Improved Overrun eliminates the provocation of the maneuver, but not the movement.

"You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing an overrun combat maneuver."

The maneuver is the standard action, not the movement.


Overrun is a separate standard action taken part DURING a move action, so I think your move would provoke regardless of your overrun not provoking.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Improved Overrun All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions