Flying Mounts


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

ok, I participate in a game where a PC has a Summoner with a quad-eidolon, with wings.

is a flying mounts wings, considered to be strong enough to carry its normal ground weight capacity.

Our DM is applying physics to the animal/eidolon/ flying creature etc, dragons etc

he is not permitting a mount or creature with wings to carry its normal weight allowances in flight, because its strength is calculating its 'ground' carrying capacities.

Is the DM right because its his game? Personally i would say yes, but in the actual rules of the game:

1) What is the correct answer? regardless of house rules of a specific DM what is the games official wording of the flying creatures weight capacities towards encumberance and being able to fly.
-
2)the Medium Sized Eidolon (Str 16) Quadruped, weight ratios. light medium etc.
-
3) would a ring of feather falling protect the rider, the eidolon, and any additional objects it is carrying at that time? Or would the Eidolon (if it fell) be out right screwed?


pretty sure it can only fly with a medium or less load. Possibly light, not sure. Certainly not fully loaded down.

Ring of feather fall only affects the creature wearing the ring. Personally I'd recommend the rider,but that's just me. If you cast feather fall it can be on other creatures/objects, but not in ring form.


1) physics and dnd don't mix too well. the fly spell is different and there is no mention of not being able to fly with a heavy load. the rules for flying in pathfinder are a lot more lax. you have to make a dc10 fly check to remain aloft without moving 1/2 speed
2) light 114, med 225, heavy 345
3) Ring of feather fall is a continuous 1st level spell, so there can only be one target. each person will need the ring, or a feather fall spell, but that only allows you to fall 60ft per caster level

Liberty's Edge

Your DM is looking into it too much, a creature can fly with a medium / light load if memory serves and yes that would apply to the ground carring capacity. Quadruped's get the 1.5 carrying cap, also the mount would have to be large size

Ring of feather fall applys to just you not the mount.

Sovereign Court

midnight756 wrote:

Your DM is looking into it too much, a creature can fly with a medium / light load if memory serves and yes that would apply to the ground carring capacity. Quadruped's get the 1.5 carrying cap, also the mount would have to be large size

Ring of feather fall applys to just you not the mount.

this was more a question of placing the Ring on the mount, not the rider.

Dragonfire: the weight capacity is in reference to the quad legged mount not the rider. for the purposes of flight based carrying capacities and its effects. not how much a medium sized PC can caRRY

Sovereign Court

my DM is still being a bit touchy over the idea. I have tried to tell him otherwise but 3 other players claim, that because it doesnt read in the carrying capacity area that a flying creature that has four legs has the full strength it normally does, it no longer counts as a quad creature while flying and cant use the x4 benefit a quad creature has. which is retarded, imho. I do my best not to rock the boat, but how the frak can a dragon or even better a griffon, fly off with a horse if it didnt have full access to its str.

the creature in question is a flying, quad, eidolon. Medium in size. Can one of the PAIZO people give me an official ruling please! This GM is ticking me off on the rules issue of well it doesnt say they can so they cant

he runs his entire game RAW. yet he isnt running it RAW on this subject

Sovereign Court

oh and its a halfling on a medium eidolon

Sovereign Court

sorry my bad a (permenancy) reduced halfling, on a mediuum eidolon


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
pretty sure it can only fly with a medium or less load.

Flying creatures can usually fly while encumbered in pathfinder.

Flying MOUNTS though have to stick to light loads...

Pathfinder kept the "Flying mounts can't fly in medium or heavy barding." line in the equipment chapter. And then in the "Encumbrance by Weight" section...

...A medium or heavy load counts as medium or heavy armor for the purpose of abilities or skills that are restricted by armor. Carrying a light load does not encumber a character.

But while it seems seems logical quadruped capacity should only apply to when the critter is using it's four legs, the quadrupedal encumbrance boost does apply to how much can be carried mid flight as exampled by the Pegasus entry.

A light load for a pegasus is up to 300 pounds; a medium load, 301–600 pounds; and a heavy load, 601–900 pounds.

So the Eidelon, if it has four legs and two wings, should be using its medium quadruped carry capacity modifier [ x1.5 not x4 ] thus having a light load of 114 lb.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flying Mounts All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.