Is it possible to use Enlarge Person to a Synthesist?


Rules Questions


Cause I'm thinking up to what extent are they one and the same. Does the Synth grow without the eidolon, thus releasing it? or do they grow together?


short answer No, enlarge does not work

check Errata

Scarab Sages

Quote:

Summoner: Can a synthesist (page 80) use spells on himself that don't affect outsiders, even though he is treated as his own type or the outsider type, "whichever is worse"?

Yes, because the normal eidolon's share spells ability says "A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon's type (outsider)," and the synthesist archetype doesn't change that.

Note: This is a revision of an earlier question that used enlarge person as an example. FAQ pending about size-changing magic and a synthesist (because of the limitation of "the eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist" rule).

—Sean K Reynolds, 08/03/11

As the errata currently stands, yes, enlarge works on a synthesist.


Artanthos wrote:
Quote:

Summoner: Can a synthesist (page 80) use spells on himself that don't affect outsiders, even though he is treated as his own type or the outsider type, "whichever is worse"?

Yes, because the normal eidolon's share spells ability says "A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon's type (outsider)," and the synthesist archetype doesn't change that.

Note: This is a revision of an earlier question that used enlarge person as an example. FAQ pending about size-changing magic and a synthesist (because of the limitation of "the eidolon must be at least the same size as the synthesist" rule).

—Sean K Reynolds, 08/03/11

As the errata currently stands, yes, enlarge works on a synthesist.

Notice the FAQ pending ;)

this is an older version of the ruling

Summoner: Can a synthesist (page 80) use spells on himself that don't affect outsiders, such as enlarge person?

No. The archetype says he counts as his type and as an outsider, whichever is worse, which means that the outsider type prevents the enlarge person from working because that spell only works on humanoids. Note that even the share spells class ability doesn't allow this to work because that ability only works on spells with "Target: you," and enlarge person is "Target: one humanoid creature" and thus does not qualify. (Example "Target: you" spells are blink, disguise self, and expeditious retreat.)

So even though yes you can cast spell on eidolon the answer is still NO enlarge person as a specific example does not work because its not a target "you" spell

However you can still cast enlarge person as a caster targetting one creature as long as the eidolon is not treated as an outsider i.e. shares your subtype.

Hence the FAQ pending about size changing magic, meaning they haven't decided.

So real answer Yes and No and Ask you GM first :P

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is it possible to use Enlarge Person to a Synthesist? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions