7th cleric, phalacery positive energy and channeled Revival


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Channeled Revival

You can expend a large portion of your channeling power to reverse death itself.

Prerequisite: Channel energy 6d6 (positive energy).

Benefit: As a full-round action that provokes attacks of opportunity, you can expend three uses of your channel energy class feature to restore a dead creature to life as if you had cast the breath of life spell (Core Rulebook 251).

Alot of talk about taking power attack feat with syenthiest got me thinking. Phalacery gives you an increase of +2 to your channel burst and the rule is if you can increase something you can quailify for a feat. I think this will work, but what of Yall who know more of the rules than I.

Liberty's Edge

jjaamm wrote:

Alot of talk about taking power attack feat with syenthiest got me thinking. Phalacery gives you an increase of +2 to your channel burst and the rule is if you can increase something you can quailify for a feat. I think this will work, but what of Yall who know more of the rules than I.

Sounds like it would work but if something were to happen to that Phylactery you would be SOL.

Grand Lodge

I just had a Merciful Healer and posed the same question. The answer, we believe is No because of the way the Phylactery works. Channeled Revival says

Quote:
Prerequisite: Channel energy 6d6 (positive energy).

The Phylactery only adds dice to the effect. You actually are channeling 4d6 with a +2d6 rider on top. It is like any other item that adds damage to a effect [e.g flaming burst]

Phylactery of Positive Channeling says,

Quote:
allows channelers of positive energy to increase the amount of damage dealt to undead creatures by +2d6. This also increases the amount of damage healed by living creatures.

Also it was shady as to qualifying for a feat, as magic items rarely allow you to bypass Prerequisites. Basically you get this box sundered off of your forehead, and you no longer have access to a feat? It does > stick out a bit <


I wanna know would a cleric who selects Alternative Channeling, say Bravery/Valor (same channel dice but heal 1/2)
be able to use the feat at the same level as a normal cleric?

Liberty's Edge

STR Ranger wrote:

I wanna know would a cleric who selects Alternative Channeling, say Bravery/Valor (same channel dice but heal 1/2)

be able to use the feat at the same level as a normal cleric?

I would say yes, because you get the full hit die of heal, than devide in half. I know there example is worded (at 7th level normal 4d6, half would be 2d6) but this does not take in 9th level with 5d6. So i just say keep it same and roll full dice and half it. My 2 cents.

Liberty's Edge

Johaan05 wrote:
I just had a Merciful Healer and posed the same question. The answer, we believe is No because of the way the Phylactery works. Channeled Revival says
Quote:
Prerequisite: Channel energy 6d6 (positive energy).

The Phylactery only adds dice to the effect. You actually are channeling 4d6 with a +2d6 rider on top. It is like any other item that adds damage to a effect [e.g flaming burst]

Phylactery of Positive Channeling says,

Quote:
allows channelers of positive energy to increase the amount of damage dealt to undead creatures by +2d6. This also increases the amount of damage healed by living creatures.
Also it was shady as to qualifying for a feat, as magic items rarely allow you to bypass Prerequisites. Basically you get this box sundered off of your forehead, and you no longer have access to a feat? It does > stick out a bit <

Actually, enhancement items let you do it all the time. I can see how the wording could leave dought


So wait then what's the consensus now?


Any word on this? The question has come up in my game recently.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I'd let it pass.
same way i'd let someone with an 11 strength, and a belt of giant strength +2 qualify for power attack. without the belt you can't use the feat, same way without the phylactery you couldn't use the feat.

its not game breaking. you're 7th level cleric with a breath of life by using more of your channels up. you'll eventually reach 9th level and be able to breath of life normally, and at 11th level you won't need the phylactery to meet the feat prerequisites. but if you're a cleric or oracle of life, you're probably channel focused at that point with those feats.

Sczarni

I was just thinking the same thing. A 7th level cleric with a phylactery channels for 6d6, and thus qualifies for the feat. But the moment you take it off you can't use the feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 7th cleric, phalacery positive energy and channeled Revival All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions