
Killatron5000 |

My buddy plays a halfling cavalier, and we're trying to figure his vital strike spirited charge damage on a challenged foe. his strength is sixteen, and he has a +1 charging lance (plus 2d6 damage on a charge. 3.5 magic item compendium pg. 31) We're seventh level. So, are we looking at 6d6+19 (3d6 for the spirited charge, 1d6 for vital strike, two for charging lance, strength and enhancement X 3 for 12 plus 7 for the challenge) or 6d6+33 (same, but multiplying the challenge.) I suppose the essential question is does the challenge ability get multiplied on a charge, or is it considered precision damage and only added once? Last nights game it was treated as the 6d6+19, which still seemed to be plenty, but I have a different buddy wanting to play a cavalier in my upcoming campaign, like to clear that up. thanks y'all.

Phasics |

...why can't you vital strike on a charge?
Vital Strike requires you to "use the attack action"
Charge requires a full round action
you don't have enough actions to do both
check the FAQ Vital strike got nerfed to oblivion as far as what it can combine with ... which is basically nothing ;)