Step Up feat with reach weapons....what is considered "adjacent"?


Rules Questions


So, a fighter with a fauchard has the Feat Step up. The fighter is standing 10 feet away from the enemy to use the reach against him. The enemy uses a 5 foot step back on their turn. The text of the feat says, "Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability."

My question is this; does this feat require you to be literally toe-to-toe with the enemy to be able to use it, or are you also considered "adjacent" when using a reach weapon?

Thanks for any help on this matter.

- K


It was once "threatened", but was changed in the beta to be adjacent. It does not work with reach weapons, and was a deliberate decision by the big JB himself to give non-reach users some love.


Kryptik wrote:
My question is this; does this feat require you to be literally toe-to-toe with the enemy to be able to use it, or are you also considered "adjacent" when using a reach weapon?

Unfortunately for you and me, adjacent doesn't change its meaning when you have a reach weapon. It still means 5 feet away, making it entirely useless for a reach weapon wielder.

#1: The enemy who five foot stepped was not adjacent to you, so you couldn't use Step Up.

#2: Even if you could use step up you would end up 10 feet away from the enemy and thus you could not end your 5foot step "adjacent" to them.


Sad day.

Thanks for the swift replies!


Ok, serious necro. But this thread neatly describes my question and shows that I did some research ;-)

Have there been any changes in the rulings since 2011?


Nope.


Disappointing but expected.

Thank you

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Step Up feat with reach weapons....what is considered "adjacent"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions