Witch question: Hex Inoculation?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Quite a few of the Witch's Hexes say "Whether or not the save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day." or some variation. Does this mean that a witch can deliberately hex all their allies at the start of a day, let the hexes expire, and have them be immune to any OTHER witch using those hexes on them?

(Conversely, it also means only one witch can use Healing or Fortune on anyone in a given day.)

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Arbane the Terrible wrote:

Quite a few of the Witch's Hexes say "Whether or not the save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day." or some variation. Does this mean that a witch can deliberately hex all their allies at the start of a day, let the hexes expire, and have them be immune to any OTHER witch using those hexes on them?

(Conversely, it also means only one witch can use Healing or Fortune on anyone in a given day.)

No just that one hex by that one witch. A witch can put any number of hexes on a single target. Just not the same hex. So if 2 witches was in the same group each of them could use healing and fortune on each member once each.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Arbane the Terrible wrote:

Quite a few of the Witch's Hexes say "Whether or not the save is successful, a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day." or some variation. Does this mean that a witch can deliberately hex all their allies at the start of a day, let the hexes expire, and have them be immune to any OTHER witch using those hexes on them?

(Conversely, it also means only one witch can use Healing or Fortune on anyone in a given day.)

When I first started playing my current character, I suggested this as a joke...

Then I did a drum roll and cymbal crash in the air.
I haven't seen an official ruling on this, but it reeks of GAME to me and is absurd.
"Hey, how about I cause you to crap your pants after breakfast so no one else can later tonight?"


taepodong wrote:


I haven't seen an official ruling on this, but it reeks of GAME to me and is absurd.

Oh, I _know_ it's absurd. That's why I'd like an official ruling on it.


Whenever you see a class featue, feat, spell, or whatever else state that it can only affect a creature once per day, it means per user.

So, if you have a party full of witches, they can all take turns placing Misfortune upon the big bad guy they fight. But, it also means that you can't give someone immunity by wasting yours.

The intention of the rule is just to prevent you from spamming the abilities. It does not hand out free immunities, as it has no effect on anyone else's usage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch question: Hex Inoculation? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions