Frostbite


Rules Questions


PRD wrote:


Frostbite
School transmutation [cold]; Level druid 1, magus 1, witch 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range touch
Targets creature touched
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes

Your melee touch attack deals 1d6 points of nonlethal cold damage + 1 point per level, and the target is fatigued. The fatigued condition ends when the target recovers from the nonlethal damage. This spell cannot make a creature exhausted even if it is already fatigued. You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level.

Doubt: How frostbite works?

Do you use magic in yourself, when you do touch attacks, the spell causes damage described?

My doubt is because of the following factors:

1) Range: touch
2) Targets: creature touched
3) Saving Throw: none;
4) Spell Resistence: yes

---

If my hypothesis is correct, it should not be like True Strike spell?
1) Range: Personal
2) Targets: You
3) Saving Throw none(harmless)
4) Spell Resistance NO


1 person marked this as a favorite.
vielimir silva wrote:


Do you use magic in yourself, when you do touch attacks, the spell causes damage described?

If my hypothesis is correct, it should not be like True Strike spell?

No, True Strike can only be cast on yourself. You cast it, then you gain a bonus. It is not a touch spell.

Frostbite is just like Chill Touch or Shocking Grasp - A touch spell.

You cast the spell and get to make a free touch attack. If the spell is not discharged, you hold the charge, and can continue making touch attacks until the spell is discharged, or you cast another spell.

You may want to familiarize yourself with these sections:

Touch Spells and Holding the Charge

Touch Spells in Combat


Sorry for the necroposting, but I can't find an answer to my question, and I think I better ask here:

Quote:
You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level.

That's blowing my mind. What does it mean? If I am, let's say, 5th level, can I do 5 touch in a signle round? Or I can "discharge" the spell 5 times along 5 or more rounds?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Blackstorm wrote:
If I am, let's say, 5th level, can I do 5 touch in a signle round? Or I can "discharge" the spell 5 times along 5 or more rounds?

It depends on how many eligible attacks you can make.

When you cast the spell, it grants you the ability to make a touch attack as a free action for that turn. After that turn is over, and you hold the charge, you're limited to whatever attacks you could normally make. Generally, that's one touch attack made as a standard action. If you had two claw attacks, you could full attack and each claw that hit would also deliver the spell (vs normal AC, not touch).

You could think of it as granting CL number of 'charges' and the spell lasts until they are all used (or until you cast another spell).

However, recently James Jacobs said that you only hold the charge of chill touch (and similar spells) until it's been discharged once, after that it no longer functions as a touch spell, but works more like an innate special attack that triggers on touch. If this is the case, then you are restricted to attempting one touch attack as a standard action each round. There's a FAQ Request post here if you'd like to see it addressed.


What Grick said...

And while paizo finds out how they want it to work - I suggest just using 3.5 rules.

Which would pretty much be what Grick said (he made a guide somewhere) - and if you have bab 6 you could make 2 touch attacks that turn (+6/+1)...


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Bigtuna wrote:
and if you have bab 6 you could make 2 touch attacks that turn (+6/+1)...

While it makes sense you could full-attack for iterative touches, it's not actually in the rules anywhere. (Iterative/high-BAB attacks aren't really defined anywhere outside a table, so it's not really surprising.)

We have James Jacobs saying "Iterative attacks are SOLELY the province of weapons (and of spells that specifically work like weapons)—touch attacks and natural weapons do not work this way."

YMMV, Ask your GM, Etc.


Grick wrote:


It depends on how many eligible attacks you can make.

When you cast the spell, it grants you the ability to make a touch attack as a free action for that turn. After that turn is over, and you hold the charge, you're limited to whatever attacks you could normally make. Generally, that's one touch attack made as a standard action. If you had two claw attacks, you could full attack and each claw that hit would also deliver the spell (vs normal AC, not touch).

You could think of it as granting CL number of 'charges' and the spell lasts until they are all used (or until you cast another spell).

However, recently James Jacobs said that you only hold the charge of chill touch (and similar spells) until it's been discharged once, after that it no longer functions as a touch spell, but works more like an innate special attack that triggers on touch. If this is the case, then you are restricted to attempting one touch attack as a standard action each round. There's a FAQ Request post here if you'd like to see it addressed.

Ty. that was my doubt. I'm going to start a Hexcrafter on tabletop campaign, and I would ilke to know if I can spellstrike the frostbite or similar with successive attacks. But the FAQ request you linke is scary. It means that I could potentially extend forstbite and chill touch and deliver a really massive amount of damage (maybe I take the prenshile hair hex and use them as secondary touch attack to deliver remaining uses of forstbite as touch?).


Blackstorm wrote:
I would ilke to know if I can spellstrike the frostbite or similar with successive attacks.

Yes. You can continue to deliver the effects of the spell with each successful attack until the effect of the spell is over.

This is (probably) true even with James interpretation, since Jason Bulmahn (Lead Designer) said, if he understood the question correctly, that you can 'get' chill touch more than once in a round.

Blackstorm wrote:
But the FAQ request you linke is scary. It means that I could potentially extend forstbite and chill touch and deliver a really massive amount of damage

If you mean extend metamagic, no.

But that interpretation does mean you could cast chill touch one day, use up one touch from it, thus converting it from a spell to an ability, then do the same with frostbite, and have both of them last until you use them, days/weeks/months, with no chance of accidental discharge. Add elemental touch just before combat, then shocking grasp and deliver all four with a single touch. I don't think this is what he intended, hence the FAQ request.

Blackstorm wrote:
(maybe I take the prenshile hair hex and use them as secondary touch attack to deliver remaining uses of forstbite as touch?).

If you're doing a full-attack using the hair, it would count as a natural attack, just like a claw or bite, so you would be targeting normal AC, not touch. (Unless you've got a GM ruling for iterative touch attacks that also works for natural weapons)


grick wrote:

Grick

Bigtuna wrote:

and if you have bab 6 you could make 2 touch attacks that turn (+6/+1)...

While it makes sense you could full-attack for iterative touches, it's not actually in the rules anywhere. (Iterative/high-BAB attacks aren't really defined anywhere outside a table, so it's not really surprising.)

We have James Jacobs saying "Iterative attacks are SOLELY the province of weapons (and of spells that specifically work like weapons)—touch attacks and natural weapons do not work this way."

YMMV, Ask your GM, Etc.

James may say so, but no official faq, - so again I would go with 3.5 rules, when ever pathfinder isn't clear...

In 3.5 you were considered armed, and touch spells was considered weapons - so you could use them for sneak attack, take feats like weapon focus, and make Iterative attacks - which made sense to me - some you might still do in pathfinder, other things are not clearly in the rules...


Grick wrote:
Blackstorm wrote:
If I am, let's say, 5th level, can I do 5 touch in a signle round? Or I can "discharge" the spell 5 times along 5 or more rounds?

It depends on how many eligible attacks you can make.

When you cast the spell, it grants you the ability to make a touch attack as a free action for that turn. After that turn is over, and you hold the charge, you're limited to whatever attacks you could normally make. Generally, that's one touch attack made as a standard action. If you had two claw attacks, you could full attack and each claw that hit would also deliver the spell (vs normal AC, not touch).

You could think of it as granting CL number of 'charges' and the spell lasts until they are all used (or until you cast another spell).

However, recently James Jacobs said that you only hold the charge of chill touch (and similar spells) until it's been discharged once, after that it no longer functions as a touch spell, but works more like an innate special attack that triggers on touch. If this is the case, then you are restricted to attempting one touch attack as a standard action each round. There's a FAQ Request post here if you'd like to see it addressed.

Just a thought, but it seems that James' interpretation of Chill Touch creates more problems than it solves. We have rules governing touch attacks and holding the charge, and allowing multiple iterative attacks with these doesn't seem to strain our existing rules, but creating a new subset for spells with multiple touches that don't follow the holding-the-charge rules introduces far more potential abuse/unintended consequences.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Frostbite All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions