Sneak Attacks and DR?


Rules Questions


How do those two work together?

Say I'm doing 1d6+2+4d6 damage against a monster with DR 10, is that -10 applied once to the total, or to the 1d6+2 and the 4d6 seperately?


Youre sneak attack is all of that damage, in your example it would be 5d6+2. The DR is applied to the total result.


Quatar wrote:
Say I'm doing 1d6+2+4d6 damage against a monster with DR 10, is that -10 applied once to the total, or to the 1d6+2 and the 4d6 seperately?

The former. DR applies per attack.

Edit: Damn ninjas.


Hayato Ken wrote:
Youre sneak attack is all of that damage, in your example it would be 5d6+2. The DR is applied to the total result.

That.


Thanks, that's how I thought, was just making sure.
I guess however that using two weapons means it applies to each attack seperately?


Quatar wrote:
I guess however that using two weapons means it applies to each attack seperately?

Sure. Plus, it will also apply to each of your iterative attacks.


Yepyep.

Two attacks that do 5d6+2 get DR 10 subtracted from each.


But you could use a ranged weapon and take the clustered shots feat, which lets you total all your damage dealt before DR is susbstracted and where possibly the optional massive damage rule comes into play.
Of course you would need to take point blank shot and precise shot too then.
Especially for ninjas a nice idea with the spend one ki to attack again option.


Humm, funny. I was pretty sure that sneak attack was only aplicable IF the normal damage entered.
That's how it is in other incarnations of the game at least. I can't find any rules about that here, however.


Xum wrote:

Humm, funny. I was pretty sure that sneak attack was only aplicable IF the normal damage entered.

That's how it is in other incarnations of the game at least. I can't find any rules about that here, however.

That's because that was never the rule -- people completely misinterpreted what the DR entry says to try and support such a position before, but it explicitly states that it prevents things if it prevents all damage -- since sneak attack is damage it isn't prevented.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Xum wrote:

Humm, funny. I was pretty sure that sneak attack was only aplicable IF the normal damage entered.

That's how it is in other incarnations of the game at least. I can't find any rules about that here, however.
That's because that was never the rule -- people completely misinterpreted what the DR entry says to try and support such a position before, but it explicitly states that it prevents things if it prevents all damage -- since sneak attack is damage it isn't prevented.

I know that such rule exists in Conan. And I agree with it, but, if such rule does not exist in the book, there is no point arguing.


Sorry didn't mean to seem like I was accusing you of such -- just pointing out where people had made the jump before.


Abraham spalding wrote:
Sorry didn't mean to seem like I was accusing you of such -- just pointing out where people had made the jump before.

No need for apologies mate, didn't get ofended. It's a problem of mine really, having read a LOT of rules from a LOT of diferent games, I tend to mix some of those on ocasion.


There might be a rule that some effects as stun or paralize etc only happen if the attack actually deals any damage. I'm not 100% sure though

But since SA is damage in itself, it probably does not fall under this rule.


Quatar wrote:

There might be a rule that some effects as stun or paralize etc only happen if the attack actually deals any damage. I'm not 100% sure though

But since SA is damage in itself, it probably does not fall under this rule.

Yeah that's the DR rules I was referencing above.

DR rules of reference


Quatar wrote:

How do those two work together?

Say I'm doing 1d6+2+4d6 damage against a monster with DR 10, is that -10 applied once to the total, or to the 1d6+2 and the 4d6 seperately?

My understanding of it is that the base attack damage (1d6+2) has to get past the DR on it's own before any sneak attack damage can be applied.

So in this case you wouldn't get ANY sneak attack damage at all, because even if you max out and score 6+2(8) it still won't be enough to bypass the DR of 10.


WascallyWabbit wrote:
Quatar wrote:

How do those two work together?

Say I'm doing 1d6+2+4d6 damage against a monster with DR 10, is that -10 applied once to the total, or to the 1d6+2 and the 4d6 seperately?

My understanding of it is that the base attack damage (1d6+2) has to get past the DR on it's own before any sneak attack damage can be applied.

So in this case you wouldn't get ANY sneak attack damage at all, because even if you max out and score 6+2(8) it still won't be enough to bypass the DR of 10.

Sneak attack is not a carrier affect. It is added damage. The others are correct.

Jason Bulmahn wrote:

DR does not negate sneak attack damage. The sneak attack damage is not a special effect that accompanies the attack, it is part of the damage roll.

Hope that clears it up.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sneak Attacks and DR? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.