Martin Sheaffer
|
| 5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. |
The pearl of power enables the possessor to recall anyone spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. Easy enough but what if a cleric had prepared say a bless but spontanously casts it as a cure light and then uses a pearl of power to recall the spell? Does it recall as a bless or a cure light. You can blame my wife for this question as she is thinking of getting one for her cleric and came up with this. :)
| wraithstrike |
The pearl of power enables the possessor to recall anyone spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. Easy enough but what if a cleric had prepared say a bless but spontanously casts it as a cure light and then uses a pearl of power to recall the spell? Does it recall as a bless or a cure light. You can blame my wife for this question as she is thinking of getting one for her cleric and came up with this. :)
The intent of the pearls is to recall that particular spell and cast, not convert, but that is just an opinion. I don't think it would break the game to allow it the other way. It is a good question though. I will hit the FAQ button.
| Frankthedm |
Your wife made a very good catch. The item itself seems clear that it the spell has to be "prepared and then cast". Clerics "lose" the spell used for Spontaneous Casting, they don't cast it. It also seems within the intent of the item as well since PoP are not supposed to help spontaneous casters.
This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells (clerics, druids, rangers, paladins, and wizards). Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast.
| Pentar |
The pearl of power enables the possessor to recall anyone spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. Easy enough but what if a cleric had prepared say a bless but spontanously casts it as a cure light and then uses a pearl of power to recall the spell? Does it recall as a bless or a cure light. You can blame my wife for this question as she is thinking of getting one for her cleric and came up with this. :)
I would allow the Cleric to recall the spell that was converted, because the spell was 'cast' just not to the same effect that was initially intended. The energies were ultimately expended as per RAW.
This does bring up an interesting question, if you go by the exact wording of the Pearl of Power - what happens if a spell was attempted, btu lost due to a failed concentration role or other circumstance? Since the spell was never successfully 'cast', can it still be recalled?
King of Vrock
|
This does bring up an interesting question, if you go by the exact wording of the Pearl of Power - what happens if a spell was attempted, btu lost due to a failed concentration role or other circumstance? Since the spell was never successfully 'cast', can it still be recalled?
You should. The point of the Pearl is to recall a prepared spell that's been cast, lost, expended... whatever. It still costs an action to use the pearl and another to cast the spell again.
--Vrock to Mud
| wraithstrike |
Martin Sheaffer wrote:The pearl of power enables the possessor to recall anyone spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. Easy enough but what if a cleric had prepared say a bless but spontanously casts it as a cure light and then uses a pearl of power to recall the spell? Does it recall as a bless or a cure light. You can blame my wife for this question as she is thinking of getting one for her cleric and came up with this. :)I would allow the Cleric to recall the spell that was converted, because the spell was 'cast' just not to the same effect that was initially intended. The energies were ultimately expended as per RAW.
This does bring up an interesting question, if you go by the exact wording of the Pearl of Power - what happens if a spell was attempted, btu lost due to a failed concentration role or other circumstance? Since the spell was never successfully 'cast', can it still be recalled?
I think the intent is just to get another chance to cast the spell, not a guarantee to cast the spell.