Mechanics of Flurry of Blows


Rules Questions


I think I'm being overly dense on the subject of Flurry of Blows, and I'm unable to find a FAQ which answers my questions.

If you are a medium sized level 1 monk with a Sai...

A: When flurrying does your first attack have to use the Sai? Or can you use Unarmed Strike for all attacks?

B: When making a standard attack or a single melee attack (i.e. Attack of Opportunity) do you have to use the Sai, or can you opt to use your unarmed strike instead?

C: If your primary weapon was a quarterstaff instead of a Sai, would you get twice as many flurry attacks because it is a double weapon?


A. During a flurry your first attack can be anything, unarmed or monk weapon. note: unarmed can also be feet, knees, headbutts, elbows ect. so even though you hold a sai in one hand, all your attacks could be "unarmed"

B. A single attack or AOO can be with anything you are armed with (or unarmed with for a monk)

C. As flurry of blows already encorporates TWF, I don't think using a double weapon will grant extra attacks as the extra attacks associated with double weapons fall under the TWF rules.


Is there an off-hand penalty for making an unarmed strike as a standard action / single melee attack while the monk has a weapon in their primary hand?

Dark Archive

NO. FLURRY of blows has no off hand penalties. you can use just 1 weapon, or any number of weapons you weild up to the number of attacks

FoB is effectively "as a full round attack replace BAB with the #s in the column"

you can also replace the attacks with combat maneuvers like trip, disarm, and a few others that you can do in place of an attack.

Dark Archive

no attack takes a penalty on AoOs for an off hand weapon or on standard attacks. only during attacks using TWF


Anyone ever considered this? wielding 2 defending monk weapons and using FoB's with your unarmed strikes? Defending weapons explicitly state they stack with anything so they would both add to your defense. Seems a little cheesy but perfectly in the rules...

Grand Lodge

RunebladeX wrote:
Anyone ever considered this? wielding 2 defending monk weapons and using FoB's with your unarmed strikes? Defending weapons explicitly state they stack with anything so they would both add to your defense. Seems a little cheesy but perfectly in the rules...

You can only transfer a defending weapon's bonus to your AC on a turn in which you use the weapon - see the FAQ.

Scarab Sages

so its viable when you get 3 or more attacks use unarmed attacks first for the higher bonus then use the defending weapons on the last attacks which are more likely to miss but since you have used them they add to your AC


RunebladeX wrote:
Anyone ever considered this? wielding 2 defending monk weapons and using FoB's with your unarmed strikes? Defending weapons explicitly state they stack with anything so they would both add to your defense. Seems a little cheesy but perfectly in the rules...

There is also the issue of same type bonuses not stacking if they are the same type, and/or come from the same source, and even the defending bonus says it stacks with all other bonus types, meaning it does not stack with itself

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mechanics of Flurry of Blows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions