| Karse |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I just noticed that in the Core Book Page 182 says that Immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but it doesnt mention anything like in the previous version 3.5 that couldnt be used in the same turn that you used a swift action.
In 3.5 says: An immediate action consumes a tiny amount of time. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time during a round, even when it isnt your turn. Using an immediate action on your turn counts as your swift action for that turn. If you use an immediate action when it isnt your turn, you cant use another immediate action or swift action until after your next turn. You cant use an immediate action when you're flat footed.
In Pathfinder: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time even if it's not your turn.
So those this means that in Pathfinder I can use a swift action and an immediate action in the same turn?
Can I also do more than 1 immediate action in a single turn?
| Sniggevert |
I just noticed that in the Core Book Page 182 says that Immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but it doesnt mention anything like in the previous version 3.5 that couldnt be used in the same turn that you used a swift action.
In 3.5 says: An immediate action consumes a tiny amount of time. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time during a round, even when it isnt your turn. Using an immediate action on your turn counts as your swift action for that turn. If you use an immediate action when it isnt your turn, you cant use another immediate action or swift action until after your next turn. You cant use an immediate action when you're flat footed.
In Pathfinder: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time even if it's not your turn.
So those this means that in Pathfinder I can use a swift action and an immediate action in the same turn?
Can I also do more than 1 immediate action in a single turn?
An immediate action is a swift action that can be performed at anytime, even when it's not your turn. In all other aspects it is a swift action, and would count as the 1 swift action you can do during your upcoming turn.
| Kazejin |
I just noticed that in the Core Book Page 182 says that Immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but it doesnt mention anything like in the previous version 3.5 that couldnt be used in the same turn that you used a swift action.
In 3.5 says: An immediate action consumes a tiny amount of time. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time during a round, even when it isnt your turn. Using an immediate action on your turn counts as your swift action for that turn. If you use an immediate action when it isnt your turn, you cant use another immediate action or swift action until after your next turn. You cant use an immediate action when you're flat footed.
In Pathfinder: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time even if it's not your turn.
So those this means that in Pathfinder I can use a swift action and an immediate action in the same turn?
Can I also do more than 1 immediate action in a single turn?
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#immediate-actions-list
Check that link, the old 3.5 rule still applies to the usage of immediate actions.
| Karse |
Karse wrote:I just noticed that in the Core Book Page 182 says that Immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but it doesnt mention anything like in the previous version 3.5 that couldnt be used in the same turn that you used a swift action.
In 3.5 says: An immediate action consumes a tiny amount of time. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time during a round, even when it isnt your turn. Using an immediate action on your turn counts as your swift action for that turn. If you use an immediate action when it isnt your turn, you cant use another immediate action or swift action until after your next turn. You cant use an immediate action when you're flat footed.
In Pathfinder: An immediate action is very similar to a swift action, but can be performed at any time even if it's not your turn.
So those this means that in Pathfinder I can use a swift action and an immediate action in the same turn?
Can I also do more than 1 immediate action in a single turn?
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#immediate-actions-list
Check that link, the old 3.5 rule still applies to the usage of immediate actions.
Ohh wow Thanks for that link. Im going to bookmark it :)
I saw it also in a much later page. Silly me. *sighs* Thanks a lot again.
| Ogrork the Mighty |
Here's an interesting question that the rules don't appear to contemplate:
Let's say you use an immediate/swift action on your turn.
Then, before your next turn, you want to use an immediate action.
Can you?
The rules say that if you use an immediate action when it isn't your turn (i.e., after your turn) you cannot use ANOTHER immediate/swift action until after your next turn. That seems to indicate that you CAN use an immediate action on your turn, use another one after your turn (but before your next turn), but then cannot use one again until AFTER your next turn.
Is this right?
| Komoda |
PSY850 is correct. Notice is says you can't use a swift action until "after your next turn" which is similar but not equal to "the next round".
You could use two immediate actions in the same "round". For instance, round 1: a fighter attacks you, you use an immediate action to do something. Your turn, you perform your actions. Another fighter attacks you, you can again use an immediate action to do something. Round 2 starts.
Of course in round 2 you could not use an immediate action until your turn is over and you could not use a swift action until round three (assuming no use of immediate action in round 2).