Two basic Druid / Polymorph Questions


Rules Questions


First, According to the Polymorph description:

Core Rules wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body.

When your armor melds into your new form, do armor penalties like armor check and arcane spell failure go away? What about with the Wild property added to the armor so you continue to gain the armor class benefit?

Second, According to the Druid class ability for Wild Shape:

Core Rules wrote:
At 8th level, a druid can use wild shape to change into a Huge or Diminutive animal, a Medium elemental, or a Small or Medium plant creature. When taking the form of animals, a druid’s wild shape now functions as beast shape III. When taking the form of an elemental, the druid’s wild shape now functions as elemental body II. When taking the form of a plant creature, the druid’s wild shape functions as plant shape I.

Beast Shape III allows you to transform into a Small or Medium Magical Beast but the class ability does not specifically state Magic Beast as an option. Can a Druid transform into a Small or Medium Magical Beast at 8th Level?

Okay, so that was three questions. Thanks,
--JD


Firts, when your equip melds in your body, it ceases to function completely. So, you are "Carrying" it, but not using it. There are feats and ways to do more.

Second, you can only polymorph into the creatures described by the druid class ability. It point's to the spell for other miscelaneous details not specified.

Or, so i think of course :P


A druid decides to change into an animal form before the ability functions like the spell, which in turn prevents that druid from changing into a magical beast.


If the ability says to reference the spell then you do what the spell says, so yes you can become a magical beast if beast shape III says you can.


wraithstrike wrote:
If the ability says to reference the spell then you do what the spell says, so yes you can become a magical beast if beast shape III says you can.

Except it only states it works like beast form 3 when taking the form of an animal so no you can't take the form of a magical beast since that's not the form of an animal.


Abraham spalding wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
If the ability says to reference the spell then you do what the spell says, so yes you can become a magical beast if beast shape III says you can.
Except it only states it works like beast form 3 when taking the form of an animal so no you can't take the form of a magical beast since that's not the form of an animal.

Good point. I agree.

Paizo Employee Developer

Raghart wrote:
Firts, when your equip melds in your body, it ceases to function completely. So, you are "Carrying" it, but not using it. There are feats and ways to do more.

That's true for some equipment, but anything continuous still works, like cloaks of resistance and headbands of wisdom, even when melded.


So an example druid wears Wild Dragon Hide Full Plate +1. Normally, the FP would have an AC of 10, a Max Dex of 1 and an ACP of -5 (-6 standard, down one for Masterwork).

The druid shifts to another form. He retains the +10 armor bonus to AC but the max Dex penalty and ACP both disappear. Correct? Is that the consensus?

I know I'm kind of repeating myself with a specific example, I just wanted to make sure I have this right. It seems like a pretty big bonus. Of course, many of the skills ACPs apply to are ones the druid simply shifts around. ACP to swim? Not a problem; shift to something with a swim speed. Same for Climb or Fly. Ride? Not happening, get off my back :P

Thanks,
--JD


Quote:

So an example druid wears Wild Dragon Hide Full Plate +1. Normally, the FP would have an AC of 10, a Max Dex of 1 and an ACP of -5 (-6 standard, down one for Masterwork).

The druid shifts to another form. He retains the +10 armor bonus to AC but the max Dex penalty and ACP both disappear. Correct? Is that the consensus?

No. I don't believe anyone has said this.

The armor ceases functioning. Its not there. You're not wearing it. Its tucked inside your body (don't ask where), completely inert, until you change back.

-The armor class bonus disappears
-The enhancement bonus to armor disappears.
-Any funy abilities the armor has work if they're constant, such as fortification, but not if they require an action to activate, such as the flight ability of celestial armor.

So as far as your plate armor is concerned, you're naked.

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magic.html#polymorph


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Quote:

So an example druid wears Wild Dragon Hide Full Plate +1. Normally, the FP would have an AC of 10, a Max Dex of 1 and an ACP of -5 (-6 standard, down one for Masterwork).

The druid shifts to another form. He retains the +10 armor bonus to AC but the max Dex penalty and ACP both disappear. Correct? Is that the consensus?

No. I don't believe anyone has said this.

The armor ceases functioning. Its not there. You're not wearing it. Its tucked inside your body (don't ask where), completely inert, until you change back.

-The armor class bonus disappears
-The enhancement bonus to armor disappears.
-Any funy abilities the armor has work if they're constant, such as fortification, but not if they require an action to activate, such as the flight ability of celestial armor.

So as far as your plate armor is concerned, you're naked.

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magic.html#polymorph

I think you missed the part where his armor has the "wild" enhancement.

Paizo Employee Developer

BigNorseWolf wrote:


No. I don't believe anyone has said this.

The armor ceases functioning. Its not there. You're not wearing it. Its tucked inside your body (don't ask where), completely inert, until you change back.

-The armor class bonus disappears
-The enhancement bonus to armor disappears.
-Any funy abilities the armor has work if they're constant, such as fortification, but not if they require an action to activate, such as the flight ability of celestial armor.

Normally, yes, but he's talking about armor with the wild enchantment

Wild wrote:

The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability

preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus)
while in a wild shape.

So if it's wild, you keep the whole +10, but since the gear is absorbed, you lose max dex and acp, though the max dex and acp bit could be spelled out a little more clearly.


Yep, Wild armor continue to give the bonus, but it's not there fisically to give any penalties...

I would force that druid to get the Heavy Armor Profiency feat to actually use it or give him penalties anyway, but i'm kinda evil.

Alorha wrote:
That's true for some equipment, but anything continuous still works, like cloaks of resistance and headbands of wisdom, even when melded.

yep too, i'd forgot about that. But only the gear you had actually equiped when you transform, not the one in backpacks or the like.


Raghart wrote:
I would force that druid to get the Heavy Armor Profiency feat to actually use it or give him penalties anyway, but i'm kinda evil.

An interesting point. I was glossing over the fact that druids don't get heavy armor proficiency. Okay, I wasn't thinking about it at all when I used that example. But, as I say, an interesting point. So, while in humanoid form, the druid would take the non-proficient penalties, but they would also be subsumed with the armor. Hmmm... something else to ponder.

Thanks, All,
--JD


Quote:
I think you missed the part where his armor has the "wild" enhancement.

whoops.. so i did. Wild: The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus) while in a wild shape. Armor and shields with this ability usually appear to be covered in leaf patterns. While the wearer is in a wild shape, the armor cannot be seen.

Moderate transmutation; CL 9th; Craft Magic Arms and Armor, baleful polymorph; Price +3 bonus.

So yes, you keep the AC and ditch the ACP. Kind of powerful, but its a +3 ability after all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two basic Druid / Polymorph Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions