Magus + THW (spell combat and spell strike)


Rules Questions


How do the Magus Spell Combat and Magus Spell Strike abilities work when you wield a two-handed weapons? Can he use them at all with a two-hander? What about the staff archetype - does it somehow change this?


Zmar wrote:
How do the Magus Spell Combat and Magus Spell Strike abilities work when you wield a two-handed weapons? Can he use them at all with a two-hander? What about the staff archetype - does it somehow change this?

You need a free hand to cast a spell, so no a 2H wouldn't work. The staff archtype gets a feat that allows them to use the staff 1 handed.


I believe it would work with Spellstrike, but not Spellcombat.


Staff fighters don't need a feat to use the quarterstaff one handed. They are clearly marked as double weapons. A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. However, this being said, all double weapons open the magus nicely for two weapon fighting. Simply use only one hand to wield your weapon on rounds that you use spell combat.


Inconvenience wrote:
Staff fighters don't need a feat to use the quarterstaff one handed. They are clearly marked as double weapons. A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. However, this being said, all double weapons open the magus nicely for two weapon fighting. Simply use only one hand to wield your weapon on rounds that you use spell combat.

Yeah, that whole part of the feat is kind of invalidated by that (though it does also let you take Weapon Specialization: Quarterstaff without fighter levels).


Inconvenience wrote:
Staff fighters don't need a feat to use the quarterstaff one handed. They are clearly marked as double weapons. A double weapon can be wielded as a one-handed weapon, but it cannot be used as a double weapon when wielded in this way—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round. However, this being said, all double weapons open the magus nicely for two weapon fighting. Simply use only one hand to wield your weapon on rounds that you use spell combat.

I think this was clarified in the FAQ that it was only small double weapons can be used one handed by a medium creature.


Gignere wrote:


I think this was clarified in the FAQ that it was only small double weapons can be used one handed by a medium creature.

Was it, now? That'd be great. :o


Jukkaimaru wrote:
Gignere wrote:


I think this was clarified in the FAQ that it was only small double weapons can be used one handed by a medium creature.
Was it, now? That'd be great. :o

The general rule for most double weapons, is that they are two-handed weapons, most characters therefore need to wield Them in two hands though they might elect to forfelt the double aspect and choose to use Them as a normal twohanded weapon.

that is also why staff mastery is a useful feat.


Mynameisjake wrote:
I believe it would work with Spellstrike, but not Spellcombat.

That.

Spellstrike yes.
Spell Combat no.


The Grandfather wrote:


The general rule for most double weapons, is that they are two-handed weapons, most characters therefore need to wield Them in two hands though they might elect to forfelt the double aspect and choose to use Them as a normal twohanded weapon.

that is also why staff mastery is a useful feat.

Eeeeeexcellent. :)


So it doesn't exactly pay to have a two handed weapon. Thanks people!

EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?


Zmar wrote:

So it doesn't exactly pay to have a two handed weapon. Thanks people!

EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?

Free action, the same way clerics cast spells when they are using a non-heavy, non tower shield and a weapon.


Zmar wrote:

So it doesn't exactly pay to have a two handed weapon. Thanks people!

EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?

It Can until you reach 8th level


Zmar wrote:


EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?

There is some table variation on weapon juggling, so it's best to ask your DM.

-James


Zmar wrote:

So it doesn't exactly pay to have a two handed weapon. Thanks people!

EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?

Also bear in mind that if you cast a touch spell, some GM's might consider moving the casting hand to grasp the weapon as "touching" something, thus causing the spell to discharge.


Mynameisjake wrote:
Zmar wrote:

So it doesn't exactly pay to have a two handed weapon. Thanks people!

EDIT: As a side question does it require an action to change a one handed weapon to two hands, like when you're attempting spellstrike. You've just cast a spell and thus needed a hand free. So grabbing the weapon with both hands to deliver the spell strike is fine then?

Also bear in mind that if you cast a touch spell, some GM's might consider moving the casting hand to grasp the weapon as "touching" something, thus causing the spell to discharge.

That would in many circumstrances render the spellstrike ability useless.

Utter nonesense if you want my oppinion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus + THW (spell combat and spell strike) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions