
harmor |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

You can expend a large portion of your channeling power to reverse death itself.
Prerequisite: Channel energy 6d6 (positive energy).
Benefit: As a full-round action that provokes attacks of opportunity, you can expend three uses of your channel energy class feature to restore a dead creature to life as if you had cast the breath of life spell (Core Rulebook 251).
A level 7 cleric has +4d6 to their channeling, but a Phylactery give +2d6. Can you qualify for this feat that requires a +6d6?

![]() |

No, this won't work. I know it's all semantics, but the phylactery 'increases the amount of damage dealt/healed by channel energy'. This isn't the same thing as, say 'being treated as X levels higher for the purposes of channel energy'.
Basically, a 7th lvl cleric has 'channel energy 4d6.' With a phylactery, they have 'channel energy 4d6'(+2d6). Increasing the damage dealt does not equal increasing the level of the class ability, even though there's little mechanical difference between the two.
For example, it'd kind of be like a rogue talent which said 'whenever you sneak attack, you do +2d6 damage.' A level 3 rogue with this item has 2d6 sneak attack, but does +2d6 damage if he sneak attacks. He doesn't have sneak attack 4d6 - bleeding attack, for example, would only do bleed 2 since it's off his 'dice of sneak attack' not 'dice of damage when he sneak attacks'. It's the same principle when applied to channel energy.

henkslaaf |

RAW says no, but as a DM I would allow it, but only if when used, there is no other choice, it is roleplayed well and adds to the fun.
I would have it cost something, maybe the item is damaged, because it is used in unexpected ways, and you'd need to get it restored before you could use it again that way. Or maybe the cleric takes 2d6 Con damage (save will for half) because of rampant energies that surround the cleric.
As always: if rules need to be bent a bit and it adds to the fun: sure! It's all about the fun :)
PS: Adding this feat through PCGen or Hero Labs is obviously not going to work :)

Anguish |

I have to disagree with the nay-sayers. The feat requires you to channel positive energy, in 6d6 increments. Level seven with that magic item will do exactly that. RAW you're absolutely qualifying.
That said, RAI is a different picture. Typically feats are written to have very concrete requirements such as X skill ranks. They won't write "+10 to Bluff checks" as a requirement as that can be obtained a lot of different ways, some low-level.
Typically the rule with magic items is that if they raise your statistics enough to qualify for a feat, you qualify as long as you're wearing that item (and it's functional).
That all said, as far as problems go... the ability to keep party members alive isn't a horrible thing. I'd allow it.

![]() |

I would say no. When you get to 9th level, you reach a bench mark. That means 5th level spells, and for a divine caster, that means spells that can bring the dead back to life like breath of life, and raise dead.
What you are suggesting would allow an end run around this and give you the ability to raise the dead at 7th level instead of 9th level.
So as a GM I would say no to your idea.

David Thomassen |

Unfortunately I would say that this would not work. The Phylactery does not add a blanket +2D6 to all channeling as per its wording "This item allows channelers of positive energy to increase the amount of damage dealt to undead creatures by +2d6. This also increases the amount of damage healed by living creatures." vs a wording of increasing the channeling effects of the user by +2D6.

Fozbek |
What you are suggesting would allow an end run around this and give you the ability to raise the dead at 7th level instead of 9th level.
That's already possible, though. Paladins can get the Ultimate Mercy feat at 5th level, which lets them spend 10 Lay On Hands uses to raise the dead. They get Cha+1/2 level Lay On Hands uses per day. At level 5, they'd have up to 8 LoH uses (22 Cha from starting with 20 and a +2 item, plus half level). By level 7 they can afford a +4 Cha item and would have 10 uses per day.
Admittedly, that requires more work, but on the other hand, Paladins can never resurrect without the use of that feat.
Now, that all said, I'm in the "4d6+2d6 isn't the same as 6d6" camp.

Bobson |

Why would you want to? Channeled Revival is completely worthless unless your ally drops within 10' of you.
Not that it really matters, since the thread is so out of date, and it's off topic to this thread, but there's no range on Channeled Revival. It just says that you restore them to life as if you used that spell. You don't actually use the spell, so you don't have to deal with any of the mechanics of casting it - it doesn't provoke (although activating the feat does), it doesn't require touch range, it doesn't require a spell slot, etc. You just spend three uses of channel, and then the target is healed as if you had cast a healing spell.

Charender |

I would say no. When you get to 9th level, you reach a bench mark. That means 5th level spells, and for a divine caster, that means spells that can bring the dead back to life like breath of life, and raise dead.
What you are suggesting would allow an end run around this and give you the ability to raise the dead at 7th level instead of 9th level.
So as a GM I would say no to your idea.
Breath of life (the ability this feat mimics) is a 4th level cleric spell, and thus completely legal spell for a level 7 cleric to use. A level 7 cleric can bring the recently deceased back to life. They have reached your benchmark.
I don't really have an opinion on the original question, but your argument actually supports the position that a level 7 cleric should be able to get this ability.

Bobson |

ElyasRavenwood wrote:I would say no. When you get to 9th level, you reach a bench mark. That means 5th level spells, and for a divine caster, that means spells that can bring the dead back to life like breath of life, and raise dead.
What you are suggesting would allow an end run around this and give you the ability to raise the dead at 7th level instead of 9th level.
So as a GM I would say no to your idea.
Breath of life (the ability this feat mimics) is a 4th level cleric spell, and thus completely legal spell for a level 7 cleric to use. A level 7 cleric [b]can[/c] bring the recently deceased back to life. They have reached your benchmark.
I don't really have an opinion on the original question, but your arguments is returning void.
It's a 5th level spell. Where are you seeing it as 4th?

Charender |

Charender wrote:It's a 5th level spell. Where are you seeing it as 4th?ElyasRavenwood wrote:I would say no. When you get to 9th level, you reach a bench mark. That means 5th level spells, and for a divine caster, that means spells that can bring the dead back to life like breath of life, and raise dead.
What you are suggesting would allow an end run around this and give you the ability to raise the dead at 7th level instead of 9th level.
So as a GM I would say no to your idea.
Breath of life (the ability this feat mimics) is a 4th level cleric spell, and thus completely legal spell for a level 7 cleric to use. A level 7 cleric [b]can[/c] bring the recently deceased back to life. They have reached your benchmark.
I don't really have an opinion on the original question, but your arguments is returning void.
You are right, I was looking at 4th levels spells and scrolled down too quickly . Jumped right past the 5th level marker without seeing it. Confirmation bias got me, because I think the spell used to be 4th level in 3.5.
Even that, he is making the argument that you have to be level 9 to do this to support a ruling that you have to be level 11 to take this feat.
If it comes down to using magic items to augments your abilities, a level 7 cleric can use a scroll of breath of life by rolling a 3 or better on d20 to make the caster level check. So again, we are not way, way outside the realm of appropiate possibilities for a level 7 cleric to use this feat in combination with a magic item.
Druids can Reincarnate at level 7.
Again, no bearing on RAW in this case.