| Ughbash |
Can a template be applied more that once?
For example a "High man" may be an advanced Human.
A Human god might be a Human that has the advanced template 4 times for demigod, 6 times for lesser, 8 times for Greater (obvioulsy gods USUALLY have more going for them than that).
Is there a rule that would stop someone from stacking a template more then once?
| wraithstrike |
Can a template be applied more that once?
For example a "High man" may be an advanced Human.
A Human god might be a Human that has the advanced template 4 times for demigod, 6 times for lesser, 8 times for Greater (obvioulsy gods USUALLY have more going for them than that).
Is there a rule that would stop someone from stacking a template more then once?
Templates are only applied once. You can't as an example apply the vampire template twice to become super vampire. It has always been understood that you can only do so once. Now if you are the GM you can do whatever you want, but be aware that was never the intent, and that whatever CR modifier a template has goes out of the window after repeated application since CR adjudication is not an exact science.
| Alex Smith 908 |
Ughbash wrote:Templates are only applied once. You can't as an example apply the vampire template twice to become super vampire. It has always been understood that you can only do so once. Now if you are the GM you can do whatever you want, but be aware that was never the intent, and that whatever CR modifier a template has goes out of the window after repeated application since CR adjudication is not an exact science.Can a template be applied more that once?
For example a "High man" may be an advanced Human.
A Human god might be a Human that has the advanced template 4 times for demigod, 6 times for lesser, 8 times for Greater (obvioulsy gods USUALLY have more going for them than that).
Is there a rule that would stop someone from stacking a template more then once?
As long as the resulting creature is still a viable base for the template you can apply them as many times as you want. You can't apply vampire twice because vampire can only be added to living creatures.
Nekyia
|
Can a template be applied more that once?
For example a "High man" may be an advanced Human.
A Human god might be a Human that has the advanced template 4 times for demigod, 6 times for lesser, 8 times for Greater (obvioulsy gods USUALLY have more going for them than that).
Is there a rule that would stop someone from stacking a template more then once?
I see no written rule that states that you can only apply a template once - so long as the template does not change their type (eg. you can't apply the Vampire template to an existing Vampire because they don't fit the criteria of 'living creatures', as Alex pointed out).
That said, there is no precedent for doing so - no creature in any published adventure has multiples of the same template - and as such I feel that though RAW does not state it, RAI suggests that that's not part of the rules. This doesn't necessarily mean that you can't houserule it to run differently in your campaign, of course, but be aware that this could adversely affect game balance (eg. Advanced x3 for +12 to all stats? Yes please!).