Caster Level Question


Rules Questions


I've tended to avoid magic users, mostly due to all the paperwork and extra rules involved. Unfortunately, now that I'm beginning to delve into creating magic items (as I'm now in a group of powergamers), there are certain terms and such I can no longer avoid. For example, for creating magic items with spells in them, it mentions that you can cast the spell at a lower caster level than your own when creating the item, but not lower than the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell. How do I determine the minimum caster level? Would it be the caster level at which the class gains access to that spell (for example, a thrid level spell having a minimum caster level of 7) or is it something else entirely?

Granted, for making new magic items the guidelines given are kind of loose, such as a Ring of Blinking being 10,000 gold cheaper than the calculation. Given that there seem to be a lot of command word rings with spells in them, I was looking to make a Ring of Hand of the Marksman (third party thrid level bard spell). Given the potency of the spell, it would most likely cost more than the guidline, but for a guidline price would the caster level be minimum 7 (being a third level spell), or could I cast it at caster level 1?

If you are unfamiliar with the spell in question, it is a third party spell published in "101 3rd level spells" that I found it on the Pathfinder SRD. Personally, I think it's a rather potent spell even in the hands of a bard. Also, for curiosities sake, what you you, as a GM, price such a ring at?


Roaming Shadow wrote:
it mentions that you can cast the spell at a lower caster level than your own when creating the item, but not lower than the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell. How do I determine the minimum caster level?

It depends on the requirements of the item. It's also not very clearly explained, and you'll probably get contradictory responses to your post, which usually ends up becoming "Ask your DM."

Normally, if an item requires a spell, you would at least need the minimum CL to cast that spell. So if you're using a 3rd-level Wizard spell, then Wizards can cast them at CL 5, so the minimum would be CL 5. I would say, even if someone else is casting the spell into the item for you, you still need that CL they need to cast it.

Roaming Shadow wrote:
I was looking to make a Ring of Hand of the Marksman (third party thrid level bard spell). ... could I cast it at caster level 1?

I would say no, since a bard can't cast it at level 1. Other opinions may vary.


Yes, the spell would have to be at 7th (for a 3rd level Bard spell) at a minimum, since that is the soonest a Bard could cast that spell. I am unfamiliar with the spell, but the general guidelines in the Core rulebook are pretty good. Note that the published magic items (like those in the core book) sometimes fudge the rules a little. Depending on whether it is command activated or continuous use, it should cost 37,800 or 42,00 gp (half that to create). Note that the GM has the final say for any unusual or unique magical items, and he or she may up the price if they consider the spell to be overly powerful.

Liberty's Edge

Roaming Shadow wrote:
I've tended to avoid magic users, mostly due to all the paperwork and extra rules involved. Unfortunately, now that I'm beginning to delve into creating magic items (as I'm now in a group of powergamers), there are certain terms and such I can no longer avoid. For example, for creating magic items with spells in them, it mentions that you can cast the spell at a lower caster level than your own when creating the item, but not lower than the minimum caster level needed to cast the spell. How do I determine the minimum caster level? Would it be the caster level at which the class gains access to that spell (for example, a thrid level spell having a minimum caster level of 7) or is it something else entirely?

That's exactly right. A good example is a Wand of Cure Light Wounds. At level 1 Caster Level, the wand would heal 1d8+1 HP. A cleric could create the wand with the spell at, say, Caster Level 5 however, assuming the Cleric is level 5 or higher, and create a wand that cures 1d8+5. The same is true in reverse: A 10th level Wizard could create a wand of lightning bolts at 10th level, causing 10d6 damage, or down to caster level 5, causing 5d6 damage (but no lower, since a Wizard would have to be a minimum of 5th level to get the 3rd level spell).

Roaming Shadow wrote:
Granted, for making new magic items the guidelines given are kind of loose, such as a Ring of Blinking being 10,000 gold cheaper than the calculation. Given that there seem to be a lot of command word rings with spells in them, I was looking to make a Ring of Hand of the Marksman (third party thrid level bard spell). Given the potency of the spell, it would most likely cost more than the guidline, but for a guidline price would the caster level be minimum 7 (being a third level spell), or could I cast it at caster level 1?

Again, you're correct: 7th level would be the minimum Caster Level you can use, since that is the minimum caster level for a Bard to cast 3rd level spells.

Roaming Shadow wrote:
If you are unfamiliar with the spell in question, it is a third party spell published in "101 3rd level spells" that I found it on the Pathfinder SRD. Personally, I think it's a rather potent spell even in the hands of a bard. Also, for curiosities sake, what you you, as a GM, price such a ring at?

On a final note, keep in mind that the pricing for magic items in Pathfinder is a guideline. Potions, wands, and scrolls are pretty cut and dry, but "custom" weapons and especially wondrous items and staves are more of an "art" than a science. Check with the GM (if you are not it) for final ruling on design and pricing for such items.


Thank you for the confirmation everyone, it's much appreciated.

Oh, and Red Wullf, that's why I was asking for opinions. The magic item creation costs are indeed guidelines, and the final cost should be adjusted based on the true potency of the item (which is why I'm a little confused as to why the Ring of Blinking is so much cheaper than the guideline price (Spell level 3 X Caster Level 7 X 1800 = 37800)). I'm just a player in the game, and of course the GM has the final say, but I was curious as to the opinions of other GMs should they face such a price question from one of their own players. Certainly I can't go to my GM and say "the Paizo boards said X", but the opinions of experienced players and DMs is still useful to me in personally evaluating future magic item creation endeavors.

Liberty's Edge

Roaming Shadow wrote:

Thank you for the confirmation everyone, it's much appreciated.

Oh, and Red Wullf, that's why I was asking for opinions. The magic item creation costs are indeed guidelines, and the final cost should be adjusted based on the true potency of the item (which is why I'm a little confused as to why the Ring of Blinking is so much cheaper than the guideline price (Spell level 3 X Caster Level 7 X 1800 = 37800)). I'm just a player in the game, and of course the GM has the final say, but I was curious as to the opinions of other GMs should they face such a price question from one of their own players. Certainly I can't go to my GM and say "the Paizo boards said X", but the opinions of experienced players and DMs is still useful to me in personally evaluating future magic item creation endeavors.

Indeed. Perhaps the best thing to do is to make the item "by the rules" as closely as you can approximate and then confer with the GM until a final price is reached. Seems the most reasonable way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Caster Level Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions