I may have quite a powerful charge on my hands...


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I'm going to be playing a cavalier/graveknight/hellknight and I have quite a powerful charge it seems. I just want to know what damage gets multiplied and what doesn't.

I have a large lance and the feat spirited charge so on a charge my damage should be x3. I have several components to the charge and I would appreciate some help knowing what gets multiplied by 3.

2d6 weapon damage
2d6 fire damage (supernatural ability and weapon enchantment)
6 strength damage
1 enchantment damage
4 power attack damage
1d6 damage from precise strike teamwork feat
4 damage from cavalier challenge

Also, what happens if I crit. Do I x3 twice, x6 or something else altogether?

Thanks


everything but the fire and the precision, if you critted it would be x5 not six.

Dark Archive

Shadow_of_death wrote:
everything but the fire and the precision, if you critted it would be x5 not six.

Cool, thanks a bunch!

Dark Archive

I think you should take a look at power attack again. You would be getting a minimum of +3 damage on power attack at level 1 which wouldn't be the case if you already had spirited charge and such a weapon. I think you'd be getting at LEAST +9 damage per attack, which DOES get multiplied with critical hits and the normal charge multiplier.

Also, how are you using a large lance? I understand enlarge person but that spell wouldn't affect your mount which you (By all rights) need to perform your classic charge.


Carbon D. Metric wrote:
I think you should take a look at power attack again. You would be getting a minimum of +3 damage on power attack at level 1 which wouldn't be the case if you already had spirited charge and such a weapon. I think you'd be getting at LEAST +9 damage per attack, which DOES get multiplied with critical hits and the normal charge multiplier.

When mounted you only wield a lance in one hand, so if he has BAB +4-7, then the +4 damage is correct.

Dark Archive

HaraldKlak wrote:
Carbon D. Metric wrote:
I think you should take a look at power attack again. You would be getting a minimum of +3 damage on power attack at level 1 which wouldn't be the case if you already had spirited charge and such a weapon. I think you'd be getting at LEAST +9 damage per attack, which DOES get multiplied with critical hits and the normal charge multiplier.
When mounted you only wield a lance in one hand, so if he has BAB +4-7, then the +4 damage is correct.

But it is impossible for him to wield the lance in one hand since it is too large for him in the first place. Just because that bit is in the rules doesn't mean a character can wield any size lance with 1-hand. If that were the case then why wouldn't every cavalier carry a bag of holding with a gargantuan lance inside?


I actually think that it might only be weapon damage that is multiplied by a spirited charge and/or lance.
The texts seem to imply that the damage of the weapon is multiplied, and doesn't go on to specify which additional types of damage is affected.


You cant wield a large lance at all using only pathfinder rules, I assumed you were using 3.5 stuff.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / I may have quite a powerful charge on my hands... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions