| Christopher Buckley |
An unusual situation arose in a session I was GMing last night.
One of the PCs (a conjurer wizard) was in the middle of casting summon monster IV, a spell with a 1-round casting time. The BBEG's turn in the initiative order was immediately before this PC's turn. I had the BBEG cast dimension door in the round after the PC wizard began casting the spell (but before it was completed) and placed said BBEG within 10 feet of the PC wizard (BBEG was large sized and had 10-ft. reach). BBEG's turn is now over and the PC wizard's turn is next.
I ruled that (in general) as soon as BBEG's turn was over, he gets an attack of opportunity on the wizard who is still in the process of casting his 1-round spell (i.e. still engaged in performing a distracting act). This was also a crucial moment in the encounter, as the AoO by the BBEG would be an almost guaranteed hit and an almost guaranteed disruption of the spell. I felt my judgment was 100% correct except for the unusual circumstance that the PC wizard's turn began immediately after BBEG's turn ended, and spells with a 1-round casting time complete "immediately before the beginning of the caster's turn."
The explanation I gave to my players was that I felt completely confident that the BBEG would definitely get an AoO on the wizard in any circumstance other than the specific circumstance of the wizard's initiative being immediately after the BBEG's. Had there been even one player between the BBEG and the wizard, I believe an AoO was in order. In other words, I felt there was no clearly defined amount of time that existed between the end of BBEG's turn and "immediately before the beginning" of the PC wizard's turn. Therefore, I ultimately decided not to take the AoO.
So, am I right or wrong in general (as far as taking an AoO in the general case of placing an attacker in melee threatening reach of a caster currently engaged in casting a 1-round spell), and did I make the correct decision in this specific instance? Thank you in advance for your comments and input.
| rarzor |
AoO's happen when the action starts -- not in the middle of the action.
If you aren't there when the wizard starts casting you don't get your AoO.
I would agree with you if it was a standard action to cast the spell but its a 1 round and that means he is vulnerable during the entire cast. Isn't the arguement that spellcasting in melee provokes and AoO because the wizard is waving his arms around and muttering to himself? I would think that since a wizard is still doing that during a 1 round spell that if anyone moves within threatened range, his continued gesturing would provoke.
| Jeraa |
This shouldn't be an issue, it is clearly covered by the rules:
You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least 1 full round. While casting a spell, you don't threaten any squares around you.
Combat section of the Core Rulebook, page 187, left column. If you do not threaten the caster when he starts to cast a spell, you do not get an AoO.
| Abraham spalding |
To make this easy:
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.
It's a full-round action -- nothing states you are still casting it after your action. You spend a full round it comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell.
Where you there for the full round action? No? Then you don't get an AoO. It is the full round action that provokes, without it you don't get the attack.
Please note that a spell with a casting time of say a minute takes a full round action on each round meaning it provokes every round until cast because you are spending an action each round casting a spell.
The only time an action provokes is when the action is taken by the character -- during the times in between character's actions they don't provoke unless something specifically causes them too (such as the greater maneuver feats).
| Jeraa |
Please note that a spell with a casting time of say a minute takes a full round action on each round meaning it provokes every round until cast because you are spending an action each round casting a spell.
Actually, by the rules, it doesn't provoke each time. Read the post of mine above yours, specifically:
You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least 1 full round. While casting a spell, you don't threaten any squares around you.
Notice it says at least one round, meaning that even if the casting time is longer, the only time an AoO is provoked is the first round a character begins casting. Yes it requires a full-round action each round until the casting is done, but only that first full-round action will provoke.
karkon
|
When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the invocations, gestures, and concentration from 1 round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration after starting the spell and before it is complete, you lose the spell.
You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least 1 full round. While casting a spell, you don't threaten any squares around you.
This action is otherwise identical to the cast a spell action described under Standard Actions.
Looking at this more closely though dropping a fireball (or something) on the caster could still cause him to make a concentration check. So your BBEG could still have done it.
The black raven
|
AoO's happen when the action starts -- not in the middle of the action.
Therefore he would not get an AoO even if D.Door did not prevent it.
If you aren't there when the wizard starts casting you don't get your AoO.
Exactly. "You only provoke attacks of opportunity when you begin casting a spell, even though you might continue casting for at least 1 full round." (page 187 of the CRB)