[Ultimate Magic] Wordspells: Multiple Effect Words and Duration


Rules Questions


The rules seems to have been clarified a bit since the playtest but maybe not for the better. The rules state

Quote:
If a wordspell has more than one effect word, the shortest of all the effect words’ durations is used for all of the effect words.

A wizard casts the level 5 wordspell

Selected, (4)Altered Form (Boost: Selected), (2)Burning Flash (Boost: Damage)

The target obviously takes CL*1d6 fire damage (Boosted for damage).

Question 1: Since Burning Flash has the shortest duration, instant, I assume this causes Altered Form to also have the duration instant. Does this mean the effects from Altered Form are basically made permanent and non-dispellable?

Question 2: Burning Flash states

Quote:
If the wordspell with this effect word has only a single target, it requires a ranged touch attack to hit and does not allow a saving throw.

It states that the wordspell allows no save, not that the effect word allows no save. Does this mean that there is no save at all for the spell? Normally you would use the save of the highest level effect word requiring a save.


Well, I just finished reading the Word Spell section, and I have no idea. Anyone else know how this works?


Hmm, good question. I had failed to notice the statement about a wordspell using the shortest of all effect words' durations. That does tend to make things confusing. Clearly a permanent transformation effect when coupled with a Soothing Touch is a bit unbalanced.

I really don't see why a spell can't have multiple durations for differing effects, especially since the biggest advantage to word spells that I see is the ability to mix and match effects.

I'm disappointed by how limited the system is by forcing all words to share the same targets, and now it seems the same will be true for durations.


Lej wrote:

The rules seems to have been clarified a bit since the playtest but maybe not for the better. The rules state

Quote:
If a wordspell has more than one effect word, the shortest of all the effect words’ durations is used for all of the effect words.

A wizard casts the level 5 wordspell

Selected, (4)Altered Form (Boost: Selected), (2)Burning Flash (Boost: Damage)

The target obviously takes CL*1d6 fire damage (Boosted for damage).

Question 1: Since Burning Flash has the shortest duration, instant, I assume this causes Altered Form to also have the duration instant. Does this mean the effects from Altered Form are basically made permanent and non-dispellable?

As written, yes.

Lej wrote:


Question 2: Burning Flash states
Quote:
If the wordspell with this effect word has only a single target, it requires a ranged touch attack to hit and does not allow a saving throw.
It states that the wordspell allows no save, not that the effect word allows no save. Does this mean that there is no save at all for the spell? Normally you would use the save of the highest level effect word requiring a save.

It appears this is running into the usual issue with Ray spells (targets touch AC, no save allowed). One would expect these types of spells to allow for a reflex save, but that is how all the spells in this category tend to work.

Burning Flash also appears to be a specific exception to the usual rule

Ultimate Magic, Words of Power wrote:
Wordspell Saving Throws: The type of saving throw for a wordspell is determined by the highest-level effect word used that allows a saving throw. If the save is successful, it applies to both effect words, but the result for each word can vary based on the individual word. If the save fails, the target takes the full effect of both effect words. The save DC is equal to 10 + the wordspell’s level (not the effect word’s level) + the wordcaster’s spellcasting ability score modifier (Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, and rangers; and Charisma for bards, paladins, and sorcerers). For example, if a 5th-level wordspell contains a 2nd-level effect word that allows a Reflex save for half and a 4th-level effect word that allows a Will save to negate, targets of the wordspell make a Will save with a DC of 15 + the caster’s ability score modifier. If the save is successful, the target takes half the normal effect from the 2nd-level word and negates the 4th-level word. If the save fails, the target takes the full effect of both effect words.

Which states that one should use the highest level effect word that allows a saving throw when determining what saving throw a wordspell should have.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [Ultimate Magic] Wordspells: Multiple Effect Words and Duration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.