Immediate Action Spells & Attacks of Opportunity


Rules Questions

Sczarni

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Would using a spell with a casting time of Immediate Action, such as the spell Hero's Defiance provoke an attack of opportunity?

If so, it kinda negates the usefulness of the spell in that if something hit you hard enough to drop you while in melee range and you use the spell, they'll get the chance to hit you again, thus likely negating the healing you just did to yourself to stay in the fight and save your companions.


Jack-of-Blades wrote:

Would using a spell with a casting time of Immediate Action, such as the spell Hero's Defiance provoke an attack of opportunity?

If so, it kinda negates the usefulness of the spell in that if something hit you hard enough to drop you while in melee range and you use the spell, they'll get the chance to hit you again, thus likely negating the healing you just did to yourself to stay in the fight and save your companions.

Following 3.5 legacy, no it won't provoke. This needs to be written specifically though.


"Spells that require only a free action to cast don't provoke attacks of opportunity."

That does need some clarification, as there are more immediate action spells now than just feather fall (which is specifically called out as not provoking).


Magic -> Casting Time wrote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.
Combat -> Actions in Combat -> Immediate Actions wrote:
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn.

Swift Actions and Immediate Actions are functionally equivalent. Swift Action spells do not provoke and therefore Immediate Action spells do not either.

Sczarni

Thank you all, very much.

I'd thought it a little fishy that spells like that would provoke, but I just wanted to get another few sets of eyes going over the rules to catch what I missed, and you guys responded quickly and concisely.

Much appreciated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Immediate Action Spells & Attacks of Opportunity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions