Wand of Shield


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Playing in PFS, my Cavalier purchased a Wand of Shield with his 2 PA. The thought being the Cavalier would give it to a caster who could use it & they would buff him up before we went in & fought with bad guy.

A DM stated that Shield is a personal spell and thus the wand could not be used on my Cavalier, only the caster wielding on himself. Was this a correct call by the DM?

Thanks

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

The DM is correct.

It is a personal spell so you must cast it on yourself.

For your cavalier to use the wand of shield he needs to invest in use magic device. It is only a DC 20 to use a wand.

Sovereign Court

Correct.

Link


I am afraid that my answer is yes, the the call was correct.
I have seen monks do the same thing with a wand of mage armor but that spell isn't personal.

Grand Lodge

The DM is correct... putting a spell into a wand does not change it's casting restrictions in the slightest. If the cavalier wants to benefit from a wand of shield, he's got to take up ranks in Use Magic Device and hope for a good roll.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
THOMAS HAMLETT wrote:


Playing in PFS, my Cavalier purchased a Wand of Shield with his 2 PA. The thought being the Cavalier would give it to a caster who could use it & they would buff him up before we went in & fought with bad guy.

A DM stated that Shield is a personal spell and thus the wand could not be used on my Cavalier, only the caster wielding on himself. Was this a correct call by the DM?

The call is correct. However, the cavalier can always take one level of cleric with the Defense sub-domain (shield is a 1st level domain spell) to use the wand normally. Only available if the cavalier worships Abadar, Nethys, Shelyn, or Torag; probably most appropriate for Order of the Star.


THOMAS HAMLETT wrote:


A DM stated that Shield is a personal spell and thus the wand could not be used on my Cavalier, only the caster wielding on himself. Was this a correct call by the DM?

Thanks

As others have said the DM is correct, just as a wizard cannot cast shield on your Cavalier, neither can the wizard use a wand of shield to do so.

You have a few options, but the easiest would be to buy a cracked vibrant purple ioun stone for 2000gp. It can store one level of spells. Have the wizard/cleric/guy with UMD(possibly yourself) use the wand to charge the ioun stone and then your cavalier can cast the shield spell directly.

-James

Sovereign Court

where would those ioun stones be found?


If you are primarily seeking the the shield spell for the Magic Missile defeating buff, a brooch of shielding costs 1500 gps as opposed to the Ioun Stone.

Liberty's Edge

You could also take one level of wizard, sorcerer or magus. Ideally, you should have a score of 11 in your casting stat (INT for wizard or magus, CHA, INT or WIS for sorcerer, depending on archetype), otherwise you would not be able to cast spells.

You can easily buy any magic item in Absalom if you have enough prestige points.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wand of Shield All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.