Manyshot, bane and critical hits


Rules Questions


I've got character with many shot, and a bane bow. Do the extra bane dice apply to both arrows on the manyshot? Does the additional +2 apply to both arrows on the many shot? How does this work with a crit? Can you cite sources for these rulings in either the rules or DMG?

Thanks for the help!


SRD wrote:

Manyshot

When making a full-attack action with a bow, your first attack fires two arrows. If the attack hits, both arrows hit. Apply precision-based damage (such as sneak attack) and critical hit damage only once for this attack. Damage bonuses from using a composite bow with a high Strength bonus apply to each arrow, as do other damage bonuses, such as a ranger's favored enemy bonus. Damage reduction and resistances apply separately to each arrow.

emphasis mine

Crit only applies to the first arrow. Other bonuses apply to both. This assuredly means any straight plusses to damage. (Both Str and Favored Enemy add twice.) Unlike with crits, there's nothing to indicate non-precision extra dice would not apply twice.


Crits and sneak attack (basically precision damage) don't apply twice. Other than that, almost everything applies twice with manyshot. That's why it's so amazing.


Sylvanite wrote:
Crits and sneak attack (basically precision damage) don't apply twice. Other than that, almost everything applies twice with manyshot. That's why it's so amazing.

My DM stated that because "flaming" and other properties were +1 and didnt work with crit that this shouldn't either.


Hatch240 wrote:
My DM stated that because "flaming" and other properties were +1 and didnt work with crit that this shouldn't either.

Manyshot fires two seperate arrows. Your DM's ruling would only make sense if Manyshot caused an auto-crit. But it doesn't. So flaming, bane and similar enchantment apply to both arrows.


Hatch240 wrote:
Sylvanite wrote:
Crits and sneak attack (basically precision damage) don't apply twice. Other than that, almost everything applies twice with manyshot. That's why it's so amazing.
My DM stated that because "flaming" and other properties were +1 and didnt work with crit that this shouldn't either.

Your DM is wrong!! He can house rule it but that's pretty cheesy after the fact. He should make those declarations before characters are made. That's a pretty big change to the core rules.


So if I confirmed a critical hit with my first shot (Manyshot). I would calculate the damage on the first arrow as a confirmed critical and the damage on the second arrow as if it had been an unconfirmed critical?


Belic wrote:
So if I confirmed a critical hit with my first shot (Manyshot). I would calculate the damage on the first arrow as a confirmed critical and the damage on the second arrow as if it had been an unconfirmed critical?

correct

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Manyshot, bane and critical hits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.