dracomancer
|
I apologize if this has already been covered somewhere I did a search of the boards and wasn't able to find any thing specific. In the skill description for UMD the table lists a static DC of 20 for Emulate Class Feature where as the specific description for Emulate Class Feature lists it a -20 modifier to the UMD roll. Which is correct?
If it is a -20 modifier what are some examples of how/when it would apply?
Krome
|
If, for example, you are a rogue, and you need to use a magic item that requires a the ability to channel energy, you may Use Magical Device to Emulate that Class Feature.
You first must use UMD to emulate the class feature. To do this you roll a d20 add in modifiers and compare to a DC 20. If you fail, too bad. If you succeed your effective level for channelling energy is your total UMD check-20. In other words for every point above level 20 that you score on UMD that is your effective level in emulating that class feature.
NOTE that you do NOT gain the actual ability, you just faked the magic item out into believing you can use that ability at that level.
ALSO NOTE that while you might have made the DC 20 check, and for example have an effective class feature of level 3, you still might not be able to use the item if it requires a level 5 to use the item.
| Mojorat |
channel energy is a bad example. or rather it is one that can cause confusion.
the thing to remember is the person emulating a class feature does not actually have that feature.
so if the above example were used of channel energy if the magic item required.
those who posses the channel energy class feature are awesome when wearing this item you could umd to be awesome.
but if it was spend a use if channel energy to be awesome it wouldn't work because you have no uses of channel energy.
I don't know where the -20 bit is from the dc is 20
| Hobbun |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Mojorat,
The -20 has nothing to do with making a successful DC. As Krome indicated, the -20 is taken into account after you make a successful check. The -20 allows you to figure out the effective level of the class you are emulating.
Let’s use Krome’s example the Channel Energy again. You have a magic item that requires the use of this ability at 5th level.
You make your roll, add in all your modifiers, and come up with a result of 24. The DC check was a 20, so technically you were successful. But remember, the requirement to use the magic item was that the character needed an effective level of 5th. This is where the -20 comes into effect. DC result 24-20=4. Therefore, you were not able to activate the item as you did not reach the effective character class level of 5.
| Ughbash |
Lets complicate matters slightly and bring Staves into the mix.
Staves let you use your level in a class rather than the items level in some cases. So your friendly neigborhoood rogue uses a staff of evocation and rolls a 40 for his result when useing chain lighting.
Does it do 20d6? (level 20 effect) or 13d6 Caster level of the staff?or 15d6 level of the rogue? and why?
Josh M Foster
Developer
|
Lets complicate matters slightly and bring Staves into the mix.
Staves let you use your level in a class rather than the items level in some cases. So your friendly neigborhoood rogue uses a staff of evocation and rolls a 40 for his result when useing chain lighting.
Does it do 20d6? (level 20 effect) or 13d6 Caster level of the staff?or 15d6 level of the rogue? and why?
I would say that caster level is not a class feature any more than BAB or base saves. It's just a stat that certain classes increase at certain levels. The rogue would therefore use the base caster level of the staff, but could still use his INT bonus (or CHA if that's better). Now, as for emulating an ability score with a staff, I actually think that would work to increase the DC.
| Kolokotroni |
Ughbash wrote:I would say that caster level is not a class feature any more than BAB or base saves. It's just a stat that certain classes increase at certain levels. The rogue would therefore use the base caster level of the staff, but could still use his INT bonus (or CHA if that's better). Now, as for emulating an ability score with a staff, I actually think that would work to increase the DC.Lets complicate matters slightly and bring Staves into the mix.
Staves let you use your level in a class rather than the items level in some cases. So your friendly neigborhoood rogue uses a staff of evocation and rolls a 40 for his result when useing chain lighting.
Does it do 20d6? (level 20 effect) or 13d6 Caster level of the staff?or 15d6 level of the rogue? and why?
Caster level is part of spellcasting, spell casting is absolutely a class feature. So in the above case the rogue would be casting chain lightning with a caster level of 20. If you are emulating the ability to cast spells (class feature) and your effective level for that class feature is 20, then your caster level is 20.
| Bobson |
Lets complicate matters slightly and bring Staves into the mix.
Staves let you use your level in a class rather than the items level in some cases. So your friendly neigborhoood rogue uses a staff of evocation and rolls a 40 for his result when useing chain lighting.
Does it do 20d6? (level 20 effect) or 13d6 Caster level of the staff?or 15d6 level of the rogue? and why?
Staves are DC 20, under the "Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item" clause. Emulating a class feature doesn't help you there.
That being said, this is my interpretation of the rules:
The class feature which allows you to cast spells is generally called "Spells" or "Spellcasting". If an item requires "casting spells as a 5th level wizard" or just "5th level caster" to activate, you can attempt to emulate having a wizard's "Spells" class feature at 5th level with a DC 25 check. This does not give you a spell list - you're effectively a 5th level wizard with a blank spell list. You can't pretend that a certain spell is on your list (that's the wand feature) and you can't cast spells or 'spend' them to power something (that's actually having the feature). This does give you a caster level, however. Likewise, if you need "5 dice of channel energy" you can emulate being a 9th level cleric, but you can't spend daily uses to activate an item that requires actually spending some of that energy.
| Bobson |
Could UMD be used on a ring of Revelation to gain an Oracles Revelation ability, for example: Channel. Thereby gaining uses of the channel ability on a class that would not normally have it?
To be honest, I'm not sure. Because the ring grants the ability, if you're the right kind of oracle. If it just was "You have more uses", then no. But it's not.