Summon Eidolon Spell


Rules Questions


I just wondered what happens if you use the spell summon eidolon while you have a summoned monster out with the summoners SLA, does the summoned monster stay out with the eidolon or can you still only have one out at the same time?

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

You've described the standard means for bringing out both summoned critters with the summon monster SLA and an eidolon.


O so it is possible, that's good to know thank you

Grand Lodge

Odion wrote:
I just wondered what happens if you use the spell summon eidolon while you have a summoned monster out with the summoners SLA, does the summoned monster stay out with the eidolon or can you still only have one out at the same time?

If you use the Summon Eidolon spell with the Summon Monster SLA,the summoned monsters get dismissed. The only way to have the Eidolon out with summon monsters would be to actually cast the Summon Monster spells.


Odion wrote:
I just wondered what happens if you use the spell summon eidolon while you have a summoned monster out with the summoners SLA, does the summoned monster stay out with the eidolon or can you still only have one out at the same time?

This topic is also being discussed here...

Shadow Lodge

LazarX wrote:
If you use the Summon Eidolon spell with the Summon Monster SLA,the summoned monsters get dismissed. The only way to have the Eidolon out with summon monsters would be to actually cast the Summon Monster spells.

I do not believe this is true. When summoned through the 1-minute ritual, the Eidolon cannot be out with the SLA Summons because both use the same source of power.

Summon Eidolon goes around that power, making the spell the Eidolon's source.

Grand Lodge

Dragonborn3 wrote:
LazarX wrote:
If you use the Summon Eidolon spell with the Summon Monster SLA,the summoned monsters get dismissed. The only way to have the Eidolon out with summon monsters would be to actually cast the Summon Monster spells.

I do not believe this is true. When summoned through the 1-minute ritual, the Eidolon cannot be out with the SLA Summons because both use the same source of power.

Summon Eidolon goes around that power, making the spell the Eidolon's source.

You don't know that. Maybe it still uses the same channel only trading time for longevity. The description of the Eidolon suggests that it's existence is not compatible with use of the Summon Monster SLA. It does not mention an exception for the Summon Eidolon spell.


Ok so difference of opinion there, ok so it says in the summon eidolon spell it can be used even if the eidolon is slain, in this case what hit points does it come back on?


Odion wrote:
Ok so difference of opinion there, ok so it says in the summon eidolon spell it can be used even if the eidolon is slain, in this case what hit points does it come back on?

The description of the eidolon states: "A summoner can summon his eidolon in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform. When summoned in this way, the eidolon hit points are unchanged from the last time it was summoned. The only exception to this is if the eidolon was slain, in which case it returns with half its normal hit points. The eidolon does not heal naturally."

So it comes back with half its hit points.


Ok thank you

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Eidolon Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions