| Erefine |
I am sure that there is already an answer to this question somewhere, but in the description of lightning arc it says that it "targets any for with 30 feet with a range touch attack..." does this mean that you can target only 1 foe or is it all foes? I am reading it as it hitting a single foe, but the wording is different that others such as fire where it says, "any single foe...". Any help or clarification would be appreciated. Thanks!
| Frankthedm |
They all look like one target effects, though lightning arc and icicle are worded differently. But they still denote "an arc of electricity" and "an icicle", singular objects.
Lightning Arc (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash an arc of electricity targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack.
Fire Bolt (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash a scorching bolt of divine fire from your outstretched hand. You can target any single foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack with this bolt of fire.
Acid Dart (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash an acid dart targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack.
Icicle (Sp): As a standard action, you can fire an icicle from your finger, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack.
| Grumpus RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32 |
another clarification on this and similar abilities.
1. If you miss your ranged touch attack, do you lose the use? or is it like other touch spells where it sticks around until discharged?
2. It saysTouch Spells and Holding the Charge
In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.
This arc of electricity deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess.
so at level 4 for instance would it do (1d6 +2) or (2d6 +2)? basically is it just the +1 that increases or is it both the 1d6 and +1
Jiggy
RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32
|
another clarification on this and similar abilities.
1. If you miss your ranged touch attack, do you lose the use? or is it like other touch spells where it sticks around until discharged?
rules wrote:2. It saysTouch Spells and Holding the Charge
In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.
air domain wrote:This arc of electricity deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess.so at level 4 for instance would it do (1d6 +2) or (2d6 +2)? basically is it just the +1 that increases or is it both the 1d6 and +1
1. In the Combat chapter, you'll find another iteration of the same "Holding the Charge" rules, and find that it's a subsection of "Touch Spells in Combat". That section defines a "touch spell" as a spell with a range of "touch". A "ranged touch attack" doesn't make it a "touch spell".
2. This is solved by english grammar. If the dice increase as well as the modifier, it would say something like "1d6+1 points of damage for every two cleric levels". But because it first lists the 1d6 damage and then in a separate clause adds "+1 point for every two cleric levels", the scaling only applies to the second clause. So at level 4, it deals 1d6+2 damage.