Spell Feats ~ Items


Rules Questions


Hello there,

i was wondering if spell focus increases the DCs of spells cast from magic items. furthermore, would spell focus apply to spell-like abilities duplicating spells from the chosen school?

thanks for your input :)

Liberty's Edge

I'm certain that they don't apply to items, you aren't actually casting the spell. As to spell like abilities, I doubt it, but I can't give any rule to back that up.


ok, thank you for your prompt answer, shadowcatx. i thought this would incite more discussion :/

anyone else?


Only on staves. All other items have their DC's set in stone. It's kind of one of those basic rules that I feel everyone should know simply from reading the rules.

BUT regardless only staves normally allow you to use feats/what not to increase the DC of the spells that come from them.


Darth_Slanderous wrote:

Hello there,

i was wondering if spell focus increases the DCs of spells cast from magic items. furthermore, would spell focus apply to spell-like abilities duplicating spells from the chosen school?

thanks for your input :)

That is an interesting question about Spell Focus and spell-like abilities.

I know that special attacks can have their DC increased by taking the Ability Focus feat from the Bestiary. I think most special attacks are extraordinary abilities and sometimes supernatural abilities.

It would seem that if you can boost the DC of extraordinary abilities and supernatural abilities, then there would be a way to boost the DC of spell-like abilities. Not with the Ability Focus feat, but I could see this comparison for a reason why Spell Focus should work.

Or then again, maybe spell-like abilities are just outta luck.


Abraham spalding wrote:
It's kind of one of those basic rules that I feel everyone should know simply from reading the rules.

damn, you're right. reading the rules first WOULD have helped ;)


Abraham spalding wrote:

Only on staves. All other items have their DC's set in stone. It's kind of one of those basic rules that I feel everyone should know simply from reading the rules.

BUT regardless only staves normally allow you to use feats/what not to increase the DC of the spells that come from them.

A corner case but as a DM I would allow a magician (bard sub class) to count spell focus for the DC at level 10 when he gets to use his Charisma to set the DC of a wand as part of his Wand Mastery Ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Feats ~ Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.